Skip to content

Winter Sonata….Winter has arrived in Boise

Thursday, November 15, 2007

Fada, the 1st part of the title of this blog is dedicated to you – if you remember :).

Even though it’s been getting cold for awhile now, last night was the first time I truly felt the cold as I was running from the car to Walmart.  Serves me right for wearing my Teva sandals during winter – the ONLY person there wearing open shoes/sandals.  The time has come – the time has come to buy proper shoes.  It’s not that I don’t have closed shoes – I have a pair of track shoes and a pair of hiking boots.  It’s just that I’ve been wanting to be cool and buy some funky shoes and since I’ve not been able to find the exact pair I like, I’ve been being a typical woman and fighting the cold wearing my open shoes.  So I guess that will be on the agenda this weekend – shoe shopping.

 It’s a good thing that Divya didn’t get my crazy gene.  She has been busy monitoring (in the picture on the left below) the weather conditions for her Appu – to check if there will be enough snow fall for the ski resorts to open.  And she has also been practising gearing up (in the picture in the middle below) – she gets dressed and goes to the post box to practise enduring the cold.  The only problem (that she doesn’t know yet) is that since she isn’t 3 feet tall yet, none of the ski resorts are going to let her snowboard no matter how cute she looks in her Appu’s snowboarding boots.  Oh well, no point in ruining her dreams.

     

Besides very few other things in life, do you ever realise how much the weather and seasons can have an impact on your life?  I was just thinking the other day how difficult it would be for people in Seattle to have to go about doing their daily things taking the raining conditions into consideration.  Then Elan reminded me how we used to go through the exact same thing in Singapore – maybe not everyday but often enough.  When it rains in Boise, I hear that people run to their office windows, watching this phenomenon in awe.  There was once when the weatherman on the News channel even reported possible thunderstorms, warning people to stay in – and all that really followed was a drizzle or a spit as they call it in New Zealand (yes, the Kiwis say it’s spitting when it’s drizzling).  It’s funny when I think back to all those messy rainy experiences I went through in Singapore.  Like when it’s pouring so heavily that you have to use the umbrella to run to the car/taxi/bus only to realise “aiyah, the bottom of my pants is soaked”.  In Singapore, it seems to be more crucial to keep your head dry at all times – have you seen the Aunty who ties the plastic bag around her head even though her body is drenched or the mama who holds a newspaper over his head because his wife has instructed him to do so?  Elan and I even remember the days when we’d wear slippers to school, carry our school shoes in a plastic bag in our school bag – then when we get to school, we’d put on our school shoes after drying our feet.  Elan even remembers some kids coming to school with plastic bags tied around their feet hahaha – stupid kids. 

When I was in New Zealand, it seemed normal to walk to school during winter (0 – 5 °C).  And now that we’re in Boise, once again, it seems normal that the temperature averages 10°C, the sun rises around 7.30am and the sun sets around 5.15pm.  I am one of those odd people who loves winter.  I am actually looking forward to it getting colder – even hoping that it will snow here in Boise.  Maybe we’ll have a white christmas 🙂

And who says there’s nothing to talk about the weather……..

“Don’t knock the weather.  If it didn’t change once in a while, nine out of ten people couldn’t start a conversation. Kin Hubbard (1868-1930)”

4 Comments leave one →
  1. zalin permalink
    Friday, November 16, 2007 12:37 pm

    I’m here!!! 😀

    aah…i *heart* winter! it always reminds me of my dating days with my then-boyfren/now-hubby, back in winter 1997!
    sigh. *titanic OST playing in the background*

    ooh..and Divya looks darn cute in those boots..hehe!

  2. Friday, November 16, 2007 1:58 pm

    Ahhhh…winter sonata…*lets hum altogether now* hmmm….hm-hm-hmmmm…HMMMM!!!!!!! 😛
    Would you believe it? They made a MALAY VERSION of Winter Sonata so I ACTUALLY know how it goes and- I CAN HUM IT! (will hum to you next time)
    Wow…I LOVE the cold. I don’t mind getting frostbite, considering that S’pore’s weather has cooked my flesh. And a white christmas? Damn I WISH I WAS THERE!
    Divya and Sarah can both look silly in big boots and they can throw snowballs at each other…..
    How nice is that?

  3. boiseangel permalink*
    Friday, November 16, 2007 4:34 pm

    Ahhh – you found me. Zalin. Is that your name? 🙂 must introduce. I was just about to send you a msg with this URL but you beat me to it. I know what you mean about the winter – that’s what I like about it too – the cosiness.

    And about Divya in her boots – hahaha – just some of the many things we do to bully our kids. But she liked it and the good part was, she couldn’t escape – so it was a win-win situation.

  4. boiseangel permalink*
    Friday, November 16, 2007 4:37 pm

    Hey Fada
    I can never forget how you imitated YOU-KNOW-WHO humming that tune at YOU-KNOW-WHERE – all I can say is, you’ve become one of them now humming it too – gross….

    Yes, I think you would love the weather – I remember how you hate the hot weather and how you get all flustered when it’s hot ………….. like that time when we were walking out of school 😉

    I don’t know about the white christmas yet – doesn’t always snow in Boise – but I’m keeping my fingers crossed. If I’m going to have to freeze my butt off, it might as well be worth it.
    It would be awesome if yall made a trip here one day.

Leave a Reply

