Skip to content

Ski Banie Hill

Thursday, January 10, 2008

Yes, that’s going to be me this Sunday – the Ski Banie attacking the Bunny Hill for a 2nd time.  I never did write about my 1st experience two Sundays ago, 30 December.  Let’s just say – I’d rather not remember it!  It was such a bad day that I even thought “screw the photo-taking” hence, the lack of visual evidence.  But just to paint you a small picture – the Kawamuras and the Elans decided to go up to Bogus Basin for the afternoon – yes, ALL of the Kawamuras and Elans – with the ski/snowboard equipment, baby equipment and the babies in tow.  BAD IDEA!  Stella went for a snowboarding lesson and I headed for a ski lesson – ofcourse, we were late (The Elans’ fault) and had to rush for the lesson.  That was already a bad start because I had to struggle along with the MOST UNCOMFORTABLE ON EARTH ski boots – trying not to slip along the way.  There were just 3 people attending that lesson (which included me) – the other couple was some Asian couple who looked like they had already been skiing for awhile and were here just to brush up.  So there I was doing that damn duck walk up a slight hill repeatedly – slipping back like a fool – then doing it again – then slipping back again – then it was time for the side-stepping, then for falling down and not knowing how to get up with the skis on – you get the picture.  I must say, as useless as the lesson turned out to be, the instructor was pretty nice – althought, he was probably rolling his eyes a million times at me behind his shades.

After the lesson, Stella and I headed back to the lodge where the fathers and babies were waiting and declared it “the end of the day”.  But then, i decided that I should at least give it a go once on the Bunny Hill – yup, I hadn’t even been down the hill once.  So we headed out again for the slope – this time, Elan brought Divya along for moral support and to give me some tips – once again, BAD IDEA.  I freaked all the way down the hill and ofcourse fell down.  Divya became a little frozen (which kick-started her flu) and poor Elan was without gloves too.  I decided to give it up for the day and we packed up and left after that. 

Down side for the day – bad 1st skiing experience, loss of 1 glove of mine and 1 glove of Divya’s, delayed the Kawamuras’ day

Bright side for the day – we learnt “never again with babies”, nice warm lunch at Rocky Mountain

I have plucked up enough courage to give skiing a 2nd chance this Sunday with Elan.  Chris and Stella have kindly agreed to babysit Divya so that we don’t have anymore messy episodes up in the mountains.  This ofcourse is another point of worry for me – this will be longest time Divya would have been away from me since she was born.  I think the most must have been about 3-4 hours before and usually if I’m not with her, Elan will be with her.  Oh boy! 

A great anonymous person once said, “Skiing is the art of catching cold and going broke while rapidly heading nowhere at great personal risk”.

So then, why you would wonder, would I want to embark on this adventure a 2nd time around.  Well, I have to conquer this fear of mine.  I had always imagined that skiing wouldn’t be as difficult as I thought and I wouldn’t be scared – after all, I’m the kind of person who would go repeatedly for deadly rides in theme parks – screaming all the way up and then all the way down.  But I have been proven otherwise.   I think when it comes to skiing, there’s a HUGE difference between what you think it’s going to be like, what it really is like and what you end up telling your friends it was like.  

I don’t know whether I will end up loving skiing, not liking it, never doing it again, or maybe trying it again in a few years’ time – but I do know that:

I SHALL CONQUER THIS.

I MUST CONQUER THIS.  

Would you believe…..I MAY CONQUER THIS???  [Only the Get Smart fans out there would understand this :)]

Tune in on Sunday night for more updates.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Thursday, January 10, 2008 9:30 pm

    I hope you conquer it! We are a skiing family and I love to ski. I am so jealous that you are going skiing. Learn it! Love it! I hope you do.

    I saw you came by my site – say hi next time, I’d love to hear from you and when I know you are there I will come over here to visit you and see what’s going on – I’d love to get to know you better. Take care and have a blast!! Kellan

  2. Friday, January 11, 2008 1:31 pm

    Hey – thanks for saying hi today!! Glad you saw that one post about Little Billy skiing! We have the best time as a family going skiing and it is just making me sick that we aren’t going this year – well, we might go at Spring Break – but I’m not sure. If you are inclined at all to learn it – you should keep at it – if I can do it, anyone can do it! I love it and so do all my kids – we have the best time. Have a good weekend – see you soon. Kellan

Leave a Reply

