Skip to content

TiVo-holics Anonymous

Monday, January 21, 2008

Ok!  So Elan and I have decided that we are desperately in need of attending TiVo-holics Anonymous for couples.  When it comes to TiVo-ing programmes, we found out just yesterday, we fit perfectly like the Yin and Yang.  This was our conversation:

Bavani : “I’m recording programmes from 7-10pm”

Elan : “Ok, so let me get this straight, I have it for 6-7pm, you have it from 7-10pm and then I have it again from 10-midnight.  Perfect!”

We’ve become prisoners of our couch!  This simple invention, called TiVo, entered our homes sneakily last year – at first, only being used to record Divya’s programmes and some documentaries for Elan.  I usually take awhile to accept and FULLY APPRECIATE new technology introduced to me.  So in the beginning, I didn’t even figure out how it works.  But soon, I had hopped onto the TiVo-wagon too……recording, watching, deleting re-runs, fast-forwarding commercials, replaying cartoons, more recording, deleting unwatched programmes, saving unwatched programmes for a “rainy” day – then coming to accept I was never going to watch them so back to deleting them, recording a programme – starting to watch it awhile after it started and forwarding away the commercials to catch up with the “real-time” of the programme.

Ok, so we are not as bad as it sounds – we just found it hilarious yesterday.  I even have a movie I recorded on the 1st of October last year that I haven’t watched yet.  Have we become slaves to that big box that sits in our living room?  I honestly don’t know – because sometimes, I wonder if we have started watching more T.V. or if we spend more time channel surfing to find the “perfect” programme that interests us.  Enough said about that.

We had a very relaxing weekend.  With Divya and I still recovering from a cold, we decided to take it easy.  So on Saturday, we decided to take Divya to the park.  It has been ages since we took her to the park – the last time must have been before it started getting cold.  So I think she views everything differently now.  She’s a little apprehensive of the swing – she just looks down and focuses on the ground [which is not a good thing, makes you more dizzy if I remember correctly :)], she loves the slide and any rocking thing.  And, most of all, I think she just likes running around – so much free space, so little time!

  

This is the semi-frozen pond in our apartment complex – check out the “ganges river 1-legged yoga pose” of the goose

        

  

Awwwww COME ON – does that mean that kids don’t have to use the “potty” during winter???

It’s a good thing we managed to take her to the park at least once, because this is what happened the next day!   Yes!  Mr Ed is still in his same position as always.

After that, we headed out to Chappala’s for lunch – we haven’t been there for a long time too.  The usual dish we order is still good and the customer service is excellent.  This was followed by a trip to Babies’R’Us to buy Divya her very first blanket.  Until now, we’ve been following the advice given by SIDS experts not to place anything in Divya’s crib.  But the time has come for her very 1st blankie :).  After much close safety inspection by her Appu, a pink fleecy blanket with little printed flowers on it was chosen [I took a picture but can’t seem to be able to get the pictures out of my camera 😦 ]

I, ofcourse, couldn’t resist buying her a cute outfit.  Babies’R’Us really does have cute outfits that are SO reasonably prices.  And it wouldn’t have been a complete outing without at least 1 hat-modelling by Divya.  She used to HATE wearing hats when she was younger, but the day she turned 1, she started loving it and feels extra proud if someone tells her how nice she looks in it – GIRLS!   This hat was like a magician’s hat – and we would have ALMOST bought it if not for my objection to its purchase hehehhe

The night was ended off watching Bruce Willis’ latest “Live Free or Die Hard”.  I guess Die Hard always guarantees fast-paced action, excitement…… – so after watching the old ones again and again, it was nice at least watching one with a new story.  I love Bruce Willis – not for his looks or great acting, just for the roles he takes, but seriously, the man is getting old.  I guess he’ll keep going…..

“Die Harder”, “Die Soft?”, “Back from the Dead, Will not Die”, “Die Hard with Love” – till he gets to “Dead”.

die-hard.jpg

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Monday, January 21, 2008 8:36 pm

    That’s funny. We don’t have TiVo. We don’t even have cable or a dish… Our downfall is buying older TV shows on DVD. *lol* We are currently working on Home Improvement and The Waltons. 😀

  2. Wednesday, January 23, 2008 12:55 pm

    We are living under a great big rock over here at our house – don’t have TiVo – we don’t even have digital cable yet! I’d love to have TiVo.

    Great pictures – that bathroom thing is crazy – what’s up with that?

    Take care and I’ll see you soon Bavani – Kellan

  3. Thursday, January 24, 2008 9:27 am

    Nice green hat. Does it come in adult size? I’m in a Dr Seuss kinda mood.

  4. boiseangel permalink*
    Thursday, January 24, 2008 11:43 am

    No silly, the hat is from Babies’R’Us so it doesn’t come in adult size hehe – if I do see it in adult size, it’s yours!

  5. Friday, January 25, 2008 11:17 am

    Hi Bavani – thanks so much for coming by my site today – so nice to see you. Have a great weekend and I’ll see you soon. Kellan

  6. Monday, January 28, 2008 7:06 pm

    Ohhhhh I so want TiVo, but I just KNOW I’d become a major adict, but that’s not a good excuse to not get it, is it? LOL

    Great photos — guess I didn’t attend the class on how to ‘hold it’ all winter long. LOL

    ~melody~

Leave a Reply

