Skip to content

Oh, what craB!

Tuesday, January 29, 2008

  

With our little home-girl on the way out (next to our garage).

And yet, another simple, but heartful weekend.  Saturday was spent checking out Joe’s Crab Shack for lunch.  The food was good – expensive for the amount of crab we got – but that is to be expected I guess, in a place like Boise.  I liked the ambience, easy-going and a pleasure for the eyes.  The restaurant is in a perfect location, right next to the Boise river – it’s definitely a place I will want to hang out at during summer – sitting outside to eat next to the river will be perfect.  I think I should start another blog just for reviewing the places I go to.

 

  The outside seating for the restaurant (right next to the river).

   We spotted a BALD EAGLE (the national bird & symbol of the U.S.) from the restaurant – we were really close, it’s just my hopeless 3x zoom on the camera.  It’s a good thing I have a kind husband who is going to buy me a camera with 10x zoom (HINT! HINT! 😉

     

Divya’s 1st taste of crab – and ofcourse, her obsession with lemon slices.

  The bucket for the crab crap/shells that is fitted into the table.  

  

The prawns and crab in the bucket – I sure hope the food buckets are not the same ones used for the “crap” buckets.

     

Yes, the view behind Divya is REALLY the view from our table – amazing right?  And that is ofcourse me – with my crab shack bib 🙂

This was followed with me being dropped off at my usual movie spot to watch “The Bucket List” while Divya was taken home for a nap.  I loved the movie – it’s inspirational – or it at least gets you thinking.  And I’m growing to love my regular movie buddies – the oldies I don’t know, but who are “oh so sweet”.  I was actually surprised to see at least 30 people in the theatre – 90% who were probably older than 68.  They were all prepared with their snacks, kleenex (for the buckets of tears) and oxygen tanks – yup, there were some in there with their tanks.  But Saturday’s highlight had to be the lady (who looked about 65) who was there with her, get this, GRANDFATHER.  Apparently, as the rest of us learned, he was hard of hearing.  So she spent the whole movie checking with him – “did you get that grandpa?”.  But you know what was the really nice thing – nobody in theatre seemed to mind at all.  They actually, unknowingly, managed to put more smiles on everyone’s face.

I have also found a favourite, new coffee place hangout – Cinnabar cafe.  It’s mostly empty, so obviously quiet – perfect for my hot-chocolate/Italian soda fixes and book-reading.

   The Cinnabar Cafe on the left and Madhuban (our favourite Sunday lunch-time hangout) on the right.

  

Yup, I was slumped reading my book in one of those comfy chairs.  And check out the huge variety of flavours in the bottles for Italian sodas 🙂 🙂

So there you go, my crabby weekend.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Tuesday, January 29, 2008 10:58 am

    Sounds like a nice weekend to me! 😀

  2. spillay permalink
    Tuesday, January 29, 2008 3:50 pm

    Hi Bavani. I really love the photos that you have posted here. Your angel is such a cute-y 🙂 .

    Also, on the subject of crab – haven’t had them in a long, long time. (Mum’s crab curry was the best – just thinking about it makes my mouth water. Ha! Ha!)

    I will definitely be visiting your blog again!!

    Spillay
    http://spillay.wordpress.com

  3. boiseangel permalink*
    Tuesday, January 29, 2008 5:10 pm

    @Julie : Yes, it was a good weekend. Simple can never go wrong.

    @spillay : I totally agree. Mum’s crab curry is always the best – I can eat just the gravy and rice on its own – and then devour the flower crabs one by one 🙂 – I guess the next best would have to be Indian shop masala crab or the Chinese shop chilli crab 🙂

Leave a Reply

