Skip to content

Bucket List

Wednesday, January 30, 2008

I watched this movie last weekend.  It made me cry (I cry at least once in almost every movie), it made me laugh, it made me have those “yeah-exactly-I know what you’re talking about” moments, but most of all……

bucket-list.jpg

it inspired me – made me realise that EVERYONE should make a bucket list (for those of you who don’t know what this is – it’s a list of things you want to do before you kick the bucket).  My definition of the bucket list would be:

  • It doesn’t have to be a list of things that wow other people
  • They don’t have to be unachievable things
  • You may have already done some of these things, but have not recorded them on paper/screen – THEY STILL COUNT
  • They just have to be things you want to do – at least once

So here I am kicking off my bucket list.

1.   Attend a speech rally by an inspiring Presidential candidate whom I support – and volunteer my help for this person and his/her cause.

So, this is what I’ve done.  THE MAN – yup, THE MAN, Barack Obama is coming to Boise this Saturday.  He’ll be making his speech at 9am.  The location has yet to be announced due to security hazards (= loony toons out there).  But as soon as we find out, THE ELANS – ALL the ELANS including the little bambina are going to be there in full force to support him.  This is not all I’m doing.  Crazy me dragged Elan and Divya down to the Obama office today to check it out and sign up to volunteer to make calls to Idaho residents to collect data on which side they are leaning towards and to encourage them to vote next Tuesday.  I wanted to take photos at the office, but felt kind of embarrassed.  Maybe I’ll snap some while making the calls?

Who would have thought when I woke up this morning that I (the non-political squirrel) would be having such a week.  You just never know what life’s bucket of treats has in store for you.

And, totally off the topic.  I was having lunch today with an egg yolk sitting on my plate when my brilliant daughter had an epiphany – she grabbed the yolk, said “baw” and laughed.  Yes, she was saying “ball” in her Divya-talk.  I burst out laughing and that “discipline-moment of not grabbing other people’s food” was gone.  Ofcourse, the lethargic nerd in me was so proud of her for identifying and associating that spherical property with that of the “baw”.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Thursday, January 31, 2008 10:30 am

    I haven’t seen the movie, but I want to and I know the premise of it. I think it is great that you put that as your first goal – what a great goal – what an interesting way to start out achieving those things on your list!! I hope you really enjoy seeing Barak Obama – that it is rewarding! Take care and see you soon. Kellan

Leave a Reply

