Skip to content

Leap of Love

Thursday, February 28, 2008

Today is a special day for Elan and I.  We had our 1st official date 4 years ago on this date.  I had carefully picked this date since it was a leap year, hoping that if “we” turned out to be “till death do us part” – it would always be a special date.  Yes, I do know that today is the 28th, but I just knew it would be one long date that would definitely spill into the 29th.  We had been out quite a few times before that – ofcourse those were just friends-hanging-out events.  Until this day, our regular hang-out was at Lau Pa Sat.  We’d meet on weekdays around 8pm (giving ourselves time to get back from work, rest and then head out there), devour satay and sit until early hours of the morning, chatting and gossiping about anything and everything. 

lau-pa-sat.jpg   satay.jpg 

Little, at that time, would we know or admit how much we were beginning to enjoy each other’s company.  And even till this day, Elan just can’t admit what great company I make :).  During one of these many nights, we did skirt around the issue of whether something more than friendship was developing, but after moments of blushing (from me) and looking into space (for Elan), we decided to postpone the topic.     

After weeks of satay and chatting, we finally decided to take this friendship one step further – a new location.  And the chosen place?  Pasta Fresca at East Coast by the beach.  I found this to be a very romantic place as it was by the beach.  And the beach to me is everything – a place to be, no matter what I was going through in life right then.  Sadly, this place no longer exists.  I was quite excited about this “date” (even though neither of us actually called it that).  I had no idea why I felt the need to rush out and buy a new blouse when I had already met him so many times in casual clothes.  At this point, Elan didn’t have a car yet so I remember us both being in separate taxis on our way to Pasta Fresca – racing to see who would get there first.  Ofcourse Elan made it there first (his house is closer :p).  It was drizzling so I got a little wet running into the restaurant – it’s a good thing I like going for the just-shampooed-wet-hair look.  It’s funny how you can meet someone so many times casually and talk most comfortably and the minute you attach the “date” concept to it, you become all shy and conscious of the way you look and what you say.  After a couple of hours of pigging out and sharing food (yes, we actually shared our dishes), the rain had actually stopped.  By now we were back to our comfortable selves and we decided to move to the outside seats to enjoy some drinks (I can’t remember if Elan had a drink or if it was just me hitting the bottle :)).

As the hours slipped by, the restaurant’s patrons started leaving, the staff started cleaning up and locking up.  It’s a good thing this restaurant was chosen – the seats outside are always for use, any time, any day.  The conversation, as always, was still going strong and we now decided to move to the tables that were on the sand itself.  I think there was noone else around except some fishermen who were using a table closeby (that’s if I remember correctly – Elan’s memory is a million times better than mine – so beware, when I can’t remember something, I just make it up hehe).  I also do remember some stray dogs around – some that chased Elan when he decided he needed to use the loo hahaha. 

The night was just magical.  Even though we know now, we didn’t know at that time that we were taking each others’ hands, forming a bond that would be always.  I think the photo below says it all (ofcourse, once again, it was me taking the photo, just in case it would mean something one day – Elan just thought I was crazy taking the photo – but secretly, I think he was falling for crazy me :)) 

28feb1.jpg

We stayed out talking and just holding hands like a pair of teenagers till the early hours of the morning.  We left just a couple of hours before sunset.  I guess I didn’t want my mum to panic that I wasn’t home.  If I remember correctly, my dad was away in New Zealand (which is probably why I was brave enough to stay out so late).

It is said that love is not just enjoying the good times together, but being by someone’s side at their lowest times and loving them through them.  And that is what Elan has been for me.  I always believe that God brings someone into your life at the right time and place for a reason.  Elan stood silently, giving me so much strength by my side when my father passed away.  He looked deep into my soul when he pledged his vows to me on our wedding day.  He held me tightly sobbing in his arms when I found out that my best friend has breast cancer.  His, was the last face of love I saw before I was wheeled into the delivery room for a c-section.  He gave me the little love & brat of our lives, Divya.  We embarked on this adventure to the other side of the world to begin a different life together.  Even though it has only been 4 years, it feels like we’ve shared lifetimes together.

Life together has been a bundle of ups and downs – this is inevitable with the coming together of 2 individuals with unique personalities and bagfuls of experiences behind them.  But I always remember the saying that sits in the showcase in my parents’ home – “Marriage is made in heaven, and so are thunder and lightning” :).  I guess the “ups” make us soar and the “downs” help us grow.

Eyan, there is noone I’d rather be sharing this roller-coaster ride in life with 🙂

Through thick and thin, till death do us part…… (I always threaten Elan I will haunt him after my death too – but he thinks I’ll be a sorry excuse for a scary ghost :p)

4 years and counting with love…….

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Friday, February 29, 2008 12:01 pm

    Congratulations and what a wonderful story! I can’t believe you thought about taking that picture of your hands – that is so cool that is represents your beginning. Have a wonderful anniversary!

    See you soon. Kellan

  2. boiseangel permalink*
    Friday, February 29, 2008 12:40 pm

    Thank you :). The photo is really special – I have no idea what made me take that photo.

  3. Friday, February 29, 2008 12:56 pm

    Sounds like a wonderful date!!…You know where Joe and I spent our first date? At Dairy Queen getting ice cream! *rofl* … Joe + Julie = NOT ROMANTIC *rofl*

  4. boiseangel permalink*
    Friday, February 29, 2008 1:07 pm

    Ice cream is ALWAYS romantic 🙂

  5. Saturday, March 1, 2008 3:56 am

    Wahhh! So lomantic one.

    For that post, I would like to ‘delicate’ this song to the loving couple … ‘Unchained Melody’.

    Suitable for human beings and ghosts.

  6. Saturday, March 1, 2008 8:40 pm

    Pshaawwww this entry is so touching! I remember how excited you got everytime you were going on a date with Elan heheheh. Happy ‘1st Official Date’ anniversary, guys!

  7. boiseangel permalink*
    Sunday, March 2, 2008 10:25 pm

    Fada : hehe – yes, I used to get all excited – even go take a shower in that scary Fuhua bathroom, change and dab the perfume – you were all my support 🙂

    Lamri (Ramli :p) : Thank you for the dedication. I’ll be sure to take it to my grave too!

  8. Hua Sing permalink
    Monday, March 3, 2008 2:51 am

    These things aren’t “discussed” amongst male company and you’ve just proven that you can know more about your good male friend… through his wife 🙂 Very touching entry. Keep this entry for Divya to read when she’s older and let her know how loving his dad is. PS. Let Elan know he’s a fast worker who wasted no time :p

  9. boiseangel permalink*
    Monday, March 3, 2008 4:23 pm

    Hua Sing : All this “macho pistachio” rubbish amongst guys! Good that this entry has showed you a different side to Elan – and I will definitely pass Elan your message 🙂

  10. Laksh permalink
    Friday, March 14, 2008 9:30 am

    Aww! That was a sweet post. Thoroughly enjoyed reading it.

  11. boiseangel permalink*
    Sunday, March 16, 2008 12:01 am

    @Laksh : thanks 🙂 – it was a really special day.

  12. Saravanan permalink
    Sunday, April 6, 2008 8:03 pm

    That was a nice, romantic post, sure to make Divya cringe and dig a hole for herself to hide when she reads this at age 12!

    No, honestly, good stuff. Made me think of the first time Alexis and I met to eat Indonesian food (I ate the fried kway teow, she had the soup). She fell hopelessly in love and then you know the rest.

Leave a Reply

