Skip to content

A heart attack in a cup

Monday, March 3, 2008

So what have I been up to since we met last?  Last Thursday, we went out for dinner at Red Lobster to celebrate our “1st date anniversary” – also for me to get my fix of prawns – and man did I get my fix.  Ofcourse, we had a little lamppost accompanying us on our romantic date.  How times have changed – where once Elan and I would (at least sometimes) gaze at each other lovingly over romantic meals, we now gaze stare at Divya to be ever-prepared for damage control.  I guess love for us was once this ↔, but it has now become this Δ.

Elan was off skiing on Friday night with 2 friends/colleagues and I was in a cooking mood.  I seldom get into one of these cooking fanatic moods.  Since I had the car, I headed out with my little assistant to stock up on some supplies needed for the planned recipes.  For dinner, I made fried bee hoon with a thai sauce and chicken pieces in teriyaki sauce (baked).  Dessert (Chocolate Strawberry Trifle) was inspired by raggedyanne.  Ofcourse, I couldn’t resist adding a few drops of rum in each cup 🙂  I must say – dessert was drooling good but definitely a heart attack waiting to happen in a cup (I must get feedback from my ever-willing recipients).  That’s why all Elan and I could have was 1 cup each (there are still 2 cups in the fridge) and I had to go on a 1-day-no-dessert day on Sunday.    

After having a bum-melted-into-the-couch Saturday morning, we headed out to the Kawamuras for Divya’s 1st friend in Boise, Collette’s 1st b’day.  It was a nice, simple, relaxing birthday party (as can be seen on the face of the b’day girl in the picture below eyeing her birthday cake – she managed to devour 1 piece by herself or rather apply it as makeup to her face – what’s a party without cake!).   

Sunday involved the usual, comforting routine of lunch at Madhuban – we are now such regulars that we are recognised.  Our trick during meals to keep Divya occupied has been to give her slices of lemon, but we were just “informed” yesterday by the waitress that too much lemon would make Divya skinny – could that be true?  Maybe I should be sucking on those pieces of lemons during meals!

We decided to watch a tamil movie, Veeraappu while Divya had her afternoon nap.  Every time I think I’ve seen the worse tamil movie ever, some one makes a new one to prove me wrong. 

veerappu1.jpg

First of all, THIS MAIN ACTOR SHOULD NOT BE A HERO!!!  Apparently, he is actually a director who decided to dip his bad-acting toes in the acting world – go back to directing, I say.  First of all, I can’t stand movies that need to have so many fight scenes to make it look like an action movie – and more than that, I couldn’t stand this actor whose “unique move” during the fight scenes was to remove his veshti during his fights and use it to reel in the crooks – this would have been “maybe” ok if he was not wearing speedos that matched his shirt in each fight scene –black shirt black speedo, blue shirt blue speedo, red shirt red speedo – YES!  PUKE!  OBSCENE!  WASH MY EYES OUT WITH SOAP!  ERASE THIS SCAR FROM MY MEMORY FOREVER!  (Check out the picture below).  Not to mention his thoppai in his TIGHT T-SHIRT – hey, I’ve got nothing against thoppais – just don’t be a hero and wear a t-shirt like that if you have one.  To add to this, he also probaby thought it was cool licking a cigarette and then biting it in half.  It may have been cool twirling the ends of a moustache in the 60s, but it ain’t so any more.  The only thing I couldn’t understand was why such a good actor like Prakash Raj would want to have a role in such a movie.  The one and only thing I appreciated about the movie was the small message for parents not to be obsessed when it comes to their children’s education/successes – gentle motivation together with logical explanation is the key in most cases.  Anyway, there, I’ve gotten it out of my system.  

p1010063.jpg

We took Divya to the park in the afternoon for a short while with her new ball – even though it looked hot, it sure wasn’t.  Our hands were frozen after 10mins.  She did enjoy running around to her little heart’s content.  We then went for a short drive house-spyinghunting – my favourite past-time.  Even though I would never dream of living in some of the huge houses we saw (it would be my housework nightmare) – I still marvel at their sizes and beauty.  So that was our weekend.

  Ooops – covered her eyes

  The father-daughter soccer team

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Monday, March 3, 2008 7:45 pm

    SHOW ME THE LEMONS!!!!!!

  2. raggedyanne permalink
    Monday, March 3, 2008 9:34 pm

    well done, the trifle looks absolutely yummy! but i see that you skimp on the cream! haha, but that’s the whole point, you can make them to suit your taste (and rum for you is not haram, and it’s good for the cold weather too, right?)

    i used to go crazy over tamil movies (during the ajit era) in uni since i’ve had several indian room mates. but nowadays, sigh.. i don’t know what’s good on tv or the movies anymore.

  3. Monday, March 3, 2008 10:25 pm

    For all these meals and desserts you’ve been making in Boise (which we’ve never seen in Singapore), you owe us a big treat of home-cooked food.

    That Indian colour-coordinated director cum actor cum superhero needs to wear a corset. *looks at own one pack stomach*

    I would love to see his red ensemble though. 😛

    And that heroine looks more afraid of his tummy than the trouble she’s in.

  4. boiseangel permalink*
    Monday, March 3, 2008 10:26 pm

    Julie : I know what you mean! 🙂 – I need them!

    Raggedyanne : Actually, I put heaps of cream – I never skimp on anything tasty and unhealthy hehe – it’s just that I took the photos the 2nd day so the cream had fallen (couldn’t find my camera).
    I still watch the tamil movies – every now and then, someone comes up with something good. And you can totally ask me about TV – I am a semi-addict.

  5. boiseangel permalink*
    Monday, March 3, 2008 10:29 pm

    Ramli : hehe – the reason you never saw the food in Singapore is coz I hardly cooked in Singapore. Boise has inspired the cook in me – like real! 🙂
    I agree about that pot-bellied silly man – he needs a corset – don’t know about “someone’s” one pack – only fada would know the truth hehe – and NO, you would not like to see the red coordinates.

  6. Tuesday, March 4, 2008 8:54 am

    I love Red Lobster and that dessert looks delicious – YUM! Glad you had fun at the part and those last pictures are so cute! Have a good day – Kellan

  7. Tuesday, March 4, 2008 6:20 pm

    Hello. Just dropping by to see what you have been up to. Looks like you have been busy 🙂 . BTW, the trifle looks good!!

    Spillay xx
    http://spillay.wordpress.com

  8. Thursday, March 6, 2008 10:44 am

    Hi Bavani – hope you are having a good week! ANd, Thanks for the prayers for our baby – we hare hoping for the best, obviously, and we appreciate all the prayers! See you soon. Kellan

Leave a Reply

