Skip to content

Alphabet Soup For The Soul

Thursday, March 27, 2008

Give me a lump sum of money, tell me to go and shop – and you’ll probably find me at the nearest bookstore stocking up.  At the end of a long and tiring day, there is nothing more calming for me than being in a bookstore browsing – it makes me feel at home no matter which part of the world I am in.  Have you ever noticed that a second-hand bookstore smells almost the same in any part of the world – ofcourse, ignoring the waft of smells coming in from outside the shop.  That’s exactly what I did last night.  I went to Hastings planning only to spend an hour there and before I knew it, they were locking up and trying to get us, bookworms, out of there.  It’s probably the only place (besides a movie theatre) in the world I can lose track of time in. 

I must have gotten my love of books from my father who was an avid reader and collector – and my love of words from my mother who used to be a journalist.  I try very hard to make the effort to read regularly but it has become increasingly difficult since my little munchkin came along.  I find that there has been a shift in my choice of books – these days, my reading content seems to comprise of words like elmo, big bird, oscar, apple, banana……. – but I am now on a mission once again to get back into my old reading habit.  And the chosen book to kick off this mission?  “Peony In Love by Lisa See”.  I don’t know how this habit ever formed, but I do remember indulging in it since I was young – the days I would use a torchlight to read under my blanket long after bedtime – this could explain my “four-eyes” and my affectionate nickname given by my cousins “kannadi mami“.  My earliest memories would be of Enid Blyton books, Mallory Towers – that’s about it – I have a bad memory – but I guess the advantage of having a bad memory is being able to enjoy the same thing several times as if it were the first time (I can watch a movie again and again and still not remember the storyline :)).  

I enjoy reading a variety of books – mostly fiction.  If it were non-fiction, it would have to be a topic that really interests me and most importantly, a book has to be written in an engaging way.  I can’t stand books that take 3 pages to describe the weather.  I cherish – the emotions a book evokes in me, the faraway lands it transports me to, the dreams it helps me rediscover, the unknown it prods me to explore, the gentle comfort its words provide me, the way it kindles my imagination, the fictional characters I identify with and become intricately involved with, almost missing them when I turn the last page of that book.  If there is a gift I could pass to Divya, it would be the love for reading. 

I think one of my favourite sayings about the power of words would have to be by Henry G. Strauss – “I have every sympathy with the American who was so horrified by what he had read about the effects of smoking that he gave up reading” 🙂

I so look forward to the Annual Fall and Spring Book Sales held by the library which are usually held from a Friday to a Sunday.  So you can imagine how disappointed I was last year to find out about the Fall Sale on the last day 1 hour before it closed.  I rushed around like a crazy woman trying to pick books (that were all going at half-price).  No matter how crazy you are about books, there are some books you just wouldn’t pick up, not even for 20 cents haha.  So I’ve been keeping a lookout for the Spring sale for 6 months now and it is finally here.  The “$9 for a bag of books” deal sounds exciting – $9 for as many books as you can stuff in the bag provided.  I just can’t help it – the proud self-proclaimed nerd in me is just showing her true colours.  Wish me luck!!!  Here are the details for those interested :

Venue : 9th Street warehouse behind the downtown library on Friday
(Enter through the Ninth Street dock.)
Dates : Friday, April 4, through Sunday, April 6.
Sale hours : Friday, 9 a.m.-7 p.m.; Saturday, 9 a.m.-5 p.m.; Sunday,
noon-4 p.m. Sunday is half-price day.
Great prices, plus bag pricing!
– Friday and Saturday: most paperbacks – $.50; most hardcovers –
$1.00.
– Special bag pricing – all the books you can stuff in a bag for
$9.00. (Excludes special books, coffee table books, book sets,
records, video and audio tapes and CD’s.)
– Sunday is half-price day.
Preview Sale for members
A preview sale for Friends members will be held on Thursday, April 3,
from 4 – 7 p.m. New members may join the Friends at the door, with
memberships starting at $5.00. 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Thursday, March 27, 2008 9:53 am

    I love to read too! All my books are still packed away, and it’s SO DERPESSING! *lol*

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    [Bavani] : Mine too! We have no space for them in this apartment – I dream of setting up a floor to ceiling bookcase in a room one day just for my books 🙂

  2. Thursday, March 27, 2008 2:31 pm

    Hi Bavani. I see that we have this in common – I LOVE BOOKS too!! (However, I prefer non-fiction). I can’t walk pass a bookstore without going in,…. and everybody in my family knows that, once I’m in a bookstore, I cannot leave without buying something 🙂 .

    For my birthday this year, hubby bought me a 7 feet, floor to ceiling bookcase! This saves me all the trouble from trying to sell my books on EBAY,..just to make space! Every book means something to me,… and I never liked getting rid of them.

    Spillay xx
    http://spillay.wordpress.com

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    [Bavani] : You lucky lucky woman 🙂 – there are some books I have that I know I should sell since I’ll probably never read them again but I just can’t bring myself to selling any books.

  3. Thursday, March 27, 2008 2:50 pm

    Wow. Should check if my local library has such a sale. That said, I am too scarred to buy new books now as I am running out of space to store them 😦

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    [Bavani] : Welcome to my site 🙂 – looks like it’s time for you to buy or build a big bookcase to store your books. There’s always space for books 🙂

  4. Thursday, March 27, 2008 6:09 pm

    Hello again. I have something for you on my blog at http://spillay.wordpress.com/2008/03/28/and-the-award-goes-to/

    Spillay xx

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    [Bavani] : I thank you, I thank you from the bottom of my heart – check my blog post 🙂

  5. raggedyanne permalink
    Friday, March 28, 2008 12:57 am

    arrrghh, i envy you! you still have your passion for reading. i used to be a bookworm too when i was little, but for the past few years, it got lost between the trappings of work, tv, and motherhood. and it doesn’t help that i’m a ‘library refugee’ and books aren’t cheap here.

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    I know what you mean. While I was back in Singapore still teaching, I never had the time either and I still don’t with looking after Divya 24/7. But I’m trying to force myself now – because I know I enjoy it and I need to cut back on my TV addiction hehe. I too go for the library books and I love 2nd-hand bookstores. I don’t believe that books have to be expensive to be of quality. I only ever buy a new book if I’m DYING to read it and it’s way too new to be in a 2nd hand shop.

Leave a Reply

