Skip to content

Dinner – Grown-Ups only……

Thursday, March 27, 2008

I have no words to explain how nice it is to be able to go out for a dinner with adults only – no bibs, no sippy cups, no high-chair escaping, no tantrums, no attention-drawing behaviour.  I am the kind of person who can’t be away too long from my little munchkin – but I think every mother and father must find some time for themselves, alone and together.  For me, I need to feel like I still have my own sense of identity in order to “function” properly and happily.  In this aspect, I have been lucky – Elan has been supportive whenever I need to go out for a break – it was easier in Singapore as I had friends there to go out with.  It’s been challenging settling into Boise and making new friends – but I’m getting there 🙂

I recently joined the Motherhood Society.  This is a support group for moms living in the Treasure Valley of Idaho including Boise, Meridian, Eagle, Nampa and the surrounding areas. This group offers support to all moms – regardless of whether the mother is a stay-at-home mom, a working mom or a somewhere-in-between mom.  The group comprises of a casual, fun-loving group of mothers.  There are playgroups and family activities that are organised.  But what I really like about this group is that its main focus is THE MOM :).  The moms meet twice a month for topical discussions (so far, I’ve attended the “Going Green” and “Spring/Summer Gardening” discussions) – what I enjoy is the casual banter that is interspersed with the discussions.  There are also regular Moms’ Nights Out.  And all of this without the kids – it really gives moms the opportunity to explore their other-than-mother selves.  

Tonight was my first Moms’ Night Out – dinner at Thai Cuisine.  There were only 3 of us but I thoroughly enjoyed the night – the main purpose being to JUST RELAX and eat.  The food at this place is quite good.  Ofcourse, food can never be 100% authentic (with me coming from Singapore, it’s hard to match up) – but right now, Elan and I are just looking for the “as good as it gets” restaurants for the different types of food.  The food is reasonably priced – $5.95 to $12.95 per dish, the place is a little old but effort is made to keep it clean, authentic and presentable.  Being a weeknight, it was quiet and we were able to enjoy our conversation and dinner.  

These “my-nights” always bring me home refreshed and recharged for this journey of motherhood.  It’s only poor Elan I pity – who is usually bullied by the little one.  The father-daughter special bond has already started hehe

5 Comments leave one →
  1. raggedyanne permalink
    Friday, March 28, 2008 1:10 am

    here i go again, envying you! we don’t have this kind of mom support group (there is one just formed in Penang, but it’s too far away from my place) and I don’t have the kind of husband who wants to be left alone with a demanding tot.

    i need to be refreshed and recharged too 😦

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    Hang in there! I’ve been having my ups and downs too until I just joined this group. I had joined another group previously with mothers who mostly had kids who were Divya’s age and I felt so stressed with all the comparisons! That’s why I love this group, the mothers have slightly older kids so they don’t compare and I can get advice from them. Hey – for now, you can always refresh and recharge online here with me 🙂

    I think my husband doesn’t mind doing it because he knows I come back happier and therefore less whinier hehe

  2. Friday, March 28, 2008 2:45 am

    Hi there! Just saw your comment yesterday, as we were away in prashanti nilayam for about nine days! wow, it’s great to hear from Sai Devotees from around the world. Thanks for dropping by our blog and dropping a note. We actually just started (as you can see) and we’re not quite on the roll of doing daily posts just yet, but it’s really nice to read my sister’s posts and now that I’ve found yours, I’m going to drop by your site often as well.

    Congrats on the award!

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    Thanks :). Lucky you! I have no idea when the next time will be that I can go to Prashanti. The last time was just before my wedding in 2005 with my mum. I do check your blog out regularly and am looking forward to updates :). Who is your sister?

  3. Friday, March 28, 2008 8:54 am

    Sounds like a nice night. 🙂

    When Joe and I have a rare date, we usually find it so strange not to have the kids with us. It’s always so quiet… We don’t have to cut anyone’s food… There isn’t a bazillion trips to the bathroom… And I actually have elbow room! *lol* The younger 3 kids always fight about who gets to sit next to me, and then who ever does sit next to me, sits so close that they are almost in my lap! *rofl*

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    In fact, Elan and I never get a date night at all. But I know how it is going out to dinner with the littlies 🙂 – for me, it’s us taking turns to keep her mouth occupied with food so that the noise pollution is at a minimum 🙂

  4. Sunday, March 30, 2008 11:00 am

    It sounds very nice. I’m glad you get time for yourself!

    Thanks so much for coming by and for the well wishes – I’ll see you soon. Kellan

  5. Wednesday, April 2, 2008 8:19 am

    Hi Bavani – thanks so much for coming by. I hope you are having a good week – see you soon – Kellan

Leave a Reply

