Skip to content

34 years young?

Tuesday, April 22, 2008

Happy Birthday Eyan ๐Ÿ™‚

Elan celebrated his birthday yesterday.ย  He didn’t want any presents – but when asked what type of cake he would like (I insist on cakes for birthdays), he requested for a fruit cake.ย  Boy!ย  Had I NO idea of what that involved – anyway…. baking is my newfound passion so I took it on as a challenge.ย  I’m not going to go into the details – but it was a joy that it turned out well ๐Ÿ™‚

The drunken fruits (that were soaked in brandy for 12 hours before)

The “before”

The “after”

Those are my gleeful hands “feeding” the cake with brandy after it was cool.

Ok, so my icing and decoration turned out a bit koyak!ย  I shouldn’t have experimented with the marzipan!ย  So it had to look like a kiddie cake.ย  Appu is what Divya is supposed to call Elan but I didn’t have enough p’s so I tried to be creative with the spelling hehe

Another view of the cake.

Father and daughter posing for the photographer….

No!ย  We didn’t eat this much of the cake….I just cut it into quarters to wrap it and store it in the fridge.

Besides Divya being sick and smashing her little finger in a door, I think it was a nice day we had ๐Ÿ™‚

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Tuesday, April 22, 2008 2:24 pm

    Wishing your husband a very Happy Birthday!!! ๐Ÿ™‚ . Aren’t birthdays simply wonderful…… I’m sure Divya had a blast of a time too…. (sorry to hear about her little finger – hope it won’t be too long till all is better..)

  2. boiseangel permalink*
    Tuesday, April 22, 2008 8:12 pm

    Thanks for the wishes ๐Ÿ™‚
    It was really sad to see her in pain with her the small amount of flesh on her little finger squashed – she was screaming – but then she was distracted and thrilled to have her finger put under cold running water (I guess it numbed the pain). She’s already forgotten about it even though there is a bruise. I’m just glad she didn’t break her finger.

  3. raggedyanne permalink
    Tuesday, April 22, 2008 9:02 pm

    happy birthday divya’s apoo! hihi, you must get this a lot, but u dun look ur age.

    bavani, even with the koyak top, the cake looks great! but what happened to the top after you’ve cut them all? did u eat all the marzipan, or did u have to remove it?

  4. boiseangel permalink*
    Tuesday, April 22, 2008 9:12 pm

    @Raggedyanne : hehe – i’ll pass him the message. He will be such a show off.

    About the cake, I decided to strip off all the marzipan (I could just roll it off) and the cake still looks decent.

  5. Wednesday, April 23, 2008 6:21 am

    I thought the cake looked cute!!

    Happy birthday to your hubby!

  6. Wednesday, April 23, 2008 1:19 pm

    Belated bday wishes to Elan! Nice cake. Where did you get the recipe from? I love fruit cakes.

  7. boiseangel permalink*
    Wednesday, April 23, 2008 10:29 pm

    @Julie : thanks for the cake compliment and the wishes ๐Ÿ™‚

    @Laksh : I like fruit cakes too. Since you are vegetarian, I’m assuming you don’t consume alcohol – so it’s not necessary to soak the fruits in it. I used a combination of 2 websites – I’ll eventually combine what I did and write it up as one recipe. These are the sites – the first site is more intricate with the instructions and the second site has a cool table with all the measurements with different sized cakes.

    http://www.deliaonline.com/recipes/the-classic-christmas-cake,1293,RC.html

    http://www.imaginativeicing.demon.co.uk/ChristmasCakeRecipe.html

Leave a Reply

