Skip to content

Race For The Cure…

Thursday, April 24, 2008

Thanks to the awareness through the Motherhood Society I belong to – I signed up for the Komen Race for the Cure (supporting breast cancer education, research, screening).  This event is being held on the 10th of May – a perfect way to celebrate mothers and ladies all around the world fighting this battle for Mother’s Day.  Elan, Divya and I will be doing the 5K walk (I’m sure Elan would prefer to run, but he’s the designated baby carrier :)). 

I feel really happy that I am part of something really worth being part of.  My aim in life is to make sure that my life on earth is one worth having lived – if that makes any sense.  I have not reached the stage of realisation that I should do things without expecting anything in return – so for now, I will enjoy the happiness I get from doing this.

If anyone wants to support/donate on my behalf to this cause, you can do it here:

http://race.komenboise.org/site/TR/Race/General?pg=personal&fr_id=1040&fr_id=1040&px=1170290

But this is not the only way – you can also sign up wherever you are for any similar event or donate to the organisations in your state/country.  Every little step counts 🙂

Here are the details for Boise:

Name of Event                         The 10th Annual Komen Boise Race for the Cure®

Date of Event                           Saturday, May 10, 2008

Race Day Schedule                 7-8am Registration (Cost is $35 on Race Day)

                                                7:30am – Survivor Tent Opens

                                                8:00 – Welcome

                                                9:00 Jazzercise Warm-ups

                                                9:15 – RACE START!

                                                9:45 – Sponsor Booths Open

                                               10:15 – Survivor Parade 

                                                10:30 – Survivor Photo 

                                                10:45 Awards Ceremony and Prize Drawings 

                                                11:00 – 9th Annual Celebration Finale                                              

Length of Race                        5K (3.1 miles) Co-ed Run / Fitness Walk or One-Mile Walk

Course Location                      250 E. Parkcenter Boulevard – Start and finish line is in front of Albertsons       Corporate Offices. 

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Friday, April 25, 2008 1:52 am

    Good on you!! I am very proud of you too 🙂 . I was just reading today about Buddism’s view on good karma,.. and I can tell you that you have earned “good karma points” just by signing up and encouraging others to do so too…. (I’m sure the Hindu view on karma is the same too 🙂 )

  2. boiseangel permalink*
    Friday, April 25, 2008 8:19 am

    @spillay : thanks for your words of support and encouragement 🙂 – they mean a lot – even if not for the good karma, I just hope my little step makes a difference in the big picture 🙂

  3. Friday, April 25, 2008 9:29 am

    Good for you!!!

  4. boiseangel permalink*
    Friday, April 25, 2008 9:50 am

    Thanks Julie 🙂

Leave a Reply

