Skip to content

Amma-hood 101

Sunday, April 27, 2008

Amma, Mamma, Mum, Mummy, Aachi, Ma, Maji, Maman, Makuahine, Ewe, Haakui, Madre, Aayi….. – known to many by different names, but meaning just the same – love. 

What is this “mother” we talk about?  A title thrust upon us – a moment of love and 9 months later, a lifelong role with no given scope, no manuals, no warnings of the heightened emotions we will feel, the sense of responsibilty thrust on our shoulders.

I remember the first pregnancy test I took, finding the test to be positive – I almost felt my heart leap through my mouth – and I can’t say it was out of pure joy.  We were barely married for a month – I saw those dreams of “enjoying” life for awhile fly out the window.  We didn’t know whether to fall over laughing, go out to celebrate or to sit down crying.  So we did the next best thing, send me to the bathroom to confirm it with a second pregnancy test.  POSITIVE!  The first person I wanted to call was my MOTHER.  But not wanting to get her hopes up, we decided to go to the doctor the next day to confirm it, ONCE AGAIN.  So peeing on a stick for the 3rd time, it was confirmed “congratulations, your mum is going to be so happy” (this coming from my family doctor who knows my family well).  And so began my journey down this many-times-travelled road – just not by me – MOTHERHOOD……

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Monday, April 28, 2008 1:31 am

    Were you still in Singapore then? … I remember the day I saw my first positive… 11 years ago in May. I was SOOOOO excited, as we’d been trying for almost 3 years by that point. (I can’t believe he’s TEN years old now!)

  2. Monday, April 28, 2008 2:54 pm

    I really love this post! Makes me reminise too…. First time around, we confirmed our pregnancy during a trip back to M’sia (5 months after our wedding)… It was wonderful that we didn’t have to relay the news over long distance calls…..2nd time around,.. we did the “stick test” at home. It was a shock to us as we didn’t think I could be pregnant again only after 5 months of giving birth to my first child! Even my “P” hadn’t fullt returned for goodness sake. But, nevertheless, once the shock subsided we were just simple HAPPY!!!

    I really love your idea about celebrating motherhood on your blog! Brilliant!!

  3. boiseangel permalink*
    Monday, April 28, 2008 9:52 pm

    @Julie : Time does fly so fast doesn’t it? Yeah, we were still in Singapore – that’s where Divya was born.

    @spillay : It is special to be around family when you “find out” :). I can’t even imagine what it must like to find out you’re pregnant when you’re 1st one is 5 months old. Those first few months were very tiring for me. You must be one strong woman!

Leave a Reply

