Skip to content

My Mother, My Inspiration

Monday, April 28, 2008

Let me rewind a little – ok, quite a lot.  My mother was born awhile ago, ok, a LONG time ago hehe – to an amazing woman, my dear Ammamma (grandmother).  My mother was a budding journalist with the Singapore Straits Times (the main newspaper in Singapore) – with opportunities of a lifetime to meet interesting people and live her dream of writing.  She met my father sometime before 1971 (she always tries to be vague about the TRUE story 🙂 – I suspect it was a love marriage – HOW TABOO! :))  They got married in 1971 and she was pregnant with my brother 2 years later.  He was born in 1974.  I guess they felt that they had to give it one more go to create the perfect child (hehe – I HOPE my brother reads this:) so in 1976, she became pregnant again and later that year, yours truly, was born 🙂  Having achieved their dream of the perfect creation :p, they must have decided to stop after this.  I did pray very hard and very LOUDLY for a little brother or sister, but it was not meant to be.  I was stuck with the big bozo I call Annai.

Oh yeah, I forgot to mention that before I was born, my brother became quite sick, so my mother left her job.  And then awhile later, she was pregnant with me – so that was the end of her career.  She made the call of what they called then, “housewife” over “working mother”.  She may have, I’m sure must have, had at least some regret over the years – maybe regret is not the right word, but feelings of “what if”.  She was and still is so talented with her writing.  But not once did she ever make us think she wasn’t happy exactly where she was – at home with us.  Ofcourse as we grew older and when we were naughty, she’d threaten us that she’d go back to work if we didn’t behave well and she says that we used to beg her not to go back to work (although, I can’t remember this part hehe).     

If one was to ask me to describe my mother in one word – that would be impossible.  But in one idea?  Think of a mother who waits for her husband and children to eat and then puts the remaining food for herself so that her family is full first – not just one day, but every day.  This wasn’t just applied to meal times – my mother, even till this day, has made it a way of life.  She made and still makes us her sole priority in life.  Our lives became her life.  

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Tuesday, April 29, 2008 6:57 am

    What a nice post about your Mom! I’m sure she will be touched. 🙂

  2. boiseangel permalink*
    Tuesday, April 29, 2008 1:48 pm

    Thank you 🙂 – yes, she was…

  3. Tuesday, April 29, 2008 2:44 pm

    Wonderful post. (However,…don’t think your bro is going to be too happy though…..)

  4. boiseangel permalink*
    Tuesday, April 29, 2008 4:40 pm

    @spillay : hehe – these are the constant silly comments between my brother and I.

  5. Laksh permalink
    Tuesday, April 29, 2008 5:56 pm

    Very nice! I can so relate to the last bit!

  6. boiseangel permalink*
    Tuesday, April 29, 2008 9:49 pm

    @Laksh : It must be a mother thing – but I have not reached that stage yet.

  7. raggedyanne permalink
    Wednesday, April 30, 2008 3:06 am

    there are never enough words to describe our mothers, right?

    and aren’t u glad u don’t remember your mother mentally torturing u to go back to work?

  8. boiseangel permalink*
    Wednesday, April 30, 2008 7:06 am

    @raggedyanne : Yes, never enough words or emotions. I am glad – maybe she was making it up? hehe I must tease her about this again…

Leave a Reply

