Skip to content

The beginning of a love affair….

Tuesday, April 29, 2008

Motherhood started for me the moment I found out there was a little bun in the oven.  Once the initial shock was over (although sometimes, I think I’m still in that shock phase), the idea of a baby growing a little, every day, in me was just amazing.

The first month went along quite smoothly and then one night (I remember the night very clearly), I took a few sips of water and out came all of it.  THAT WAS THE BEGINNING.  The beginning of my 3-month LONG 16 hours/day sickness (yes, it’s not limited to just the morning).  Thankfully, I was spared when I was asleep at night.  Running to the bathroom while teaching a lesson was just way too much for me so I was lucky enough to be able to go on no-pay leave.

It was a stressful time – not being able to eat anything (and I mean ANYTHING – I could go days without food and fluid – I couldn’t even keep water down) and going crazy worrying whether I was not giving my little one adequate nutrition.  But my life-saver doctor (affectionately known to us as Christmas Thatha) assured me that the baby would be fine and pumped me with vitamins and supplements. 

Just a little about my doctor – I went to see him because he came highly recommended.  In the beginning, it did worry us that he was so old (his hand would shake when giving me an injection – Elan was the worried witness while I closed my eyes).  I even considered changing doctors but there was just something about him – something about the way he would say things to allay my fears.  He was known within the Indian community to have “kai rasi” – so being the “believe in anything good” type of person that I am, I put all my faith in his hands and in GOD.  He could be such a funny or strict old man.  He came dressed to work everyday with LOUD shirts, suspenders and a bow tie.  Here’s a picture of us after Divya was born 🙂

I remember that all through this gut-emptying time, I used to talk to the little grape, then the peach, then the mango, growing in my womb telling her (Well, I didn’t know it was a “her” at the time) that she was OK and that she must keep growing well for her Amma.  HEY!  I’m not the only one out there who talks to a baby in the womb.  I remember checking regularly on a ruler how big the baby was at different stages. 

I had dreamt of having a baby since I was 15.  Excitement…..Anticipation……started growing in my heart.  I was falling in love.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Wednesday, April 30, 2008 12:17 am

    I wish we could have gotten a picture of us with my doctor… Joe did get one picture of him, passing off Alicia to a nurse, but it’s hard to see him since he’s in full scrubs (I had a c-section).

    Is there more of this story coming??? 😀

  2. raggedyanne permalink
    Wednesday, April 30, 2008 2:04 am

    this is such a sweet post, bav, and particularly funny about the kindly old doctor. he seems like an interesting character.

    heyyy… coincidently, i was having a dream of being pregnant last nite. Are you………?

  3. boiseangel permalink*
    Wednesday, April 30, 2008 7:05 am

    @Julie : I had a c-section too that’s why I didn’t have a photo of him in the delivery room. I was totally knocked out. And yes, there is more of this story to come 🙂 – my two week mission till mother’s day 🙂

    @raggedyanne : yes, more about the interesting doctor in my posts in the next 2 weeks :). Nah, I’m not – hope not to be until after my trip back to Singapore in Oct/Nov. How abt you? Are you dreams telling you anything? 🙂

  4. Saturday, September 13, 2008 9:16 pm

    Nice read 🙂

Leave a Reply

