Skip to content

It’s a girl…

Friday, May 2, 2008

My pregnancy with Divya was by no means easy.  First it was the vomitting and through this, I also started having pains.  It was also this time when I was still considering whether I should stick with our doctor or whether I should find a new one.  But the following experience made me decide firmly to stick with our Christmas Thatha (by the way, this name is a reference to Santa Claus for those who didn’t know). 

I was having so much pain that I decided to make an appointment with a lady doctor in a way-too-expensive hospital – she came highly recommended!!!!!!!!!!  It felt good stepping into the clinic.  It was much newer than the clinic I was going to – the nurses were nice.  THEN I stepped into her office.  She asked me what my concerns were so I told her.  Then guess what she said!  She said that I was very negative.  WHAT(%!#^%)&#^  I always thought that the point of going to a doctor was to express your concerns so that he/she could advice you.  And all I did was tell her I was a little worried – that IS allowed, isn’t it?  It was at that moment that I realised that I needed a “nice” (and ofcourse, experienced) doctor when the time came in the delivery room.  I didn’t want to be preoccupied with scolding my doctor. 

Anyway, before this appointment, Elan and I didn’t want to find out the gender of the baby – well, I didn’t want to.  I wanted a surprise.  Elan said he didn’t mind either way.  But I was feeling down and worried about the baby, so it was just an on-the-spot decision to find out – so that was the day we found out we were having a little girl.  This is what the doctor-I-didn’t-like said, “It’s definitely a girl”.

This is the first picture of the scan we had on the same day – it was so heart-warming to see her sucking her thumb 🙂 – we were so proud of her first visible proficient skills 🙂

We were shocked at first (for some reason, we sort of assumed we were having a boy) and then thrilled :).  The feeling knowing that I was having a mini-me growing in me (well, maybe at least half a mini-me) was so special.  I already started dreaming of the little dresses, the hair-clips…..It was also around this time that I went to buy her first little outfits 🙂

One Comment leave one →
  1. Saturday, May 3, 2008 1:25 pm

    I was lucky to have a WONDERFUL doctor when I was pregnant. Dr. Prescott wanted to hear your concerns. In fact, on more than one occasion he would tell me, “You can complain you know.” … He was the best!

Leave a Reply

