Skip to content

Yikes! The Boise river overflowed…..

Monday, May 19, 2008

 

Remember these pictures I took a few weeks ago? [Aha!  If you’ve been reading you would!]  I took them when we went for a walk along the Boise River on the unpaved part of the path. 

Well, to get on with the story, the weather had been predicted to be really hot the weekend, just gone (90 – 96°F) – and since we had A LOT of snow this winter, a huge increase in the water level was expected.  Boise residents were warned not to go “floating” down the river (which, incidentally, we plan to do this summer).  So on Saturday, as soon as Divya went for her afternoon nap, I drove down to the river and this is what I saw.

The river has definitely risen – it was flowing faster than usual but not VERY FAST.  Then on Sunday in the evening, C and G (our friends), called us around 8.45pm asking if we had been down to the river – they told us that there had been some flooding (overflowing).  I was keen to go down and see it.  So we dragged the sleeping Divya out of bed and drove down to the river to meet C and G.  Divya was ofcourse a little confused at first – then she started giggling (probably excited about the unexpected adventure) and “talking” a lot to G when we met them.  Now once again, see those pictures above with Elan and Divya on the unpaved path?  This is what it looks like now.

There is always something beautiful about being in nature in the quiet of night – something about feeling the power of Mother Nature – and the feeling of helpness, knowing that she holds your life in her hands. 

We were lucky enough to catch sight of this heron – and even luckier to be able to walk within almost about 5 feet of it.  Even Divya was playing the “quiet game”.  Unfortunately, the lighting was not good and this is all that I could catch with my camera (any recommendations for a new camera I will eventually get?).  I guess it’s one of the pictures I have to keep in my head. 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Tuesday, May 20, 2008 7:20 am

    Look at the difference in those pictures! Amazing! … I don’t think we’ve had any flooding… But then, I never watch the news, so I am clueless. *lol*

  2. boiseangel permalink*
    Tuesday, May 20, 2008 7:30 am

    @Julie : Yeah, the difference in just a matter of a couple of days is amazing.

  3. Tuesday, May 20, 2008 11:27 am

    Bavani-

    Wow, the flooding seems so sudden, its different when you watch it in the news, etc. versus being able to experience it first hand (not in a negative sense), but, being in close quarters to the area. Good pics.

  4. Thursday, May 22, 2008 3:33 pm

    My… my… The flooding really does look bad. The impact is so much different when you are there as against looking at it in some broadcast – I agree with Mitr on that.

  5. boiseangel permalink*
    Friday, May 23, 2008 12:35 am

    @Mitr and A-kay : Yes, you are both right – it is so much more powerful when you are there in person. The only time I’ve felt it more powerful was when I was by the Ganges.

  6. Friday, May 23, 2008 3:27 pm

    I love how you rushed out to explore (when you heard about the flooding)!!! Believe it or not,… it’s the little things like this (ie. the appreciation of nature) that make like so meaningful 🙂

Leave a Reply

