Skip to content

Yogi Bear…..Here I come….

Friday, May 23, 2008

Yes, we’re off to the Yellowstone National Park.  And I’m so excited!  I’ve never been driving/walking through such a big National Park.  I’m off in dreamland imagining what animals and what beautiful sights are in store for me.  But if you’re looking forward to my photos – don’t have high hopes.  My zoom is not very great – so unless a bear comes up to slap me in the face or a bison comes up to boot me in the rear end – I may not get very good photos.  I’ll try my best, I promise – I won’t try to get up too close to animals and I won’t hang upside down from a tree, but I will try my best.

The added treat is that we are meeting our friends from San Francisco there – they have a little boy (born on the SAME date as Divya – just one year earlier) – so she gets to play with him for a few days.  Thakali (that’s our car) is all stocked and packed like a can of sardines with lots of snacks and rubbish hehe.  I’ve even baked cookies to take along.  Somehow, I sense myself rambling in this post – I think I’m just too excited.  I Iove going on road trips – I talk Elan to death (I think he just wants a peaceful drive), but I feel I must do my part too – so we listen to 80s tamil songs and I talk non-stop.  I’m hoping to have a very relaxing time – it’s been awhile.  So I’m well prepared (look at the photo below).

   

YES!  I do drink.  NO!  I’m not an alcoholic.  I do like a drink once in awhile – I only have it once in many months these days.  I guess in my nerdy “partying” days, I used to drink a lot more.  But once Divya took over our lives, I pretty much gave it up. 

So I just don’t know what this trip is going to be like – Jim Beam, the bears and the wild!  Hmmm – so hopefully you’ll hear from me again when I return 🙂

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Friday, May 23, 2008 8:04 am

    Sounds like quite the trip! Have a good time!!!

  2. Friday, May 23, 2008 3:23 pm

    I hope all of you have a great time at the National Park. Our family love nature too,.. and we too have been to many bushwalks. Don’t forget to pack your binoculars 🙂

  3. Friday, May 23, 2008 4:59 pm

    Bavani-

    have a great trip to yellowstone, we were originally planning for that, but later, settled to mt.shasta and crater lake.

    LoL-ed at the occasional drinking admission, very brave of you to admit that in a blog.

    Have a great trip.

  4. Tuesday, May 27, 2008 3:34 am

    Have a lovely trip!! Sounds very fun. Will check back for trip notes.

  5. Wednesday, May 28, 2008 9:32 am

    Say hi to Boo Boo for me.

    You look stoned with that bottle in hand. Hehehe …

  6. boiseangel permalink*
    Friday, May 30, 2008 3:18 pm

    @spillay : that’s one thing we forgot – the binoculars.

    @Mitr : I am way too old to be embarrassed about my occasional drinking – and no old mami or mama can any longer give me “that look”

    @blackcadillac : hehe – I didn’t send Boo Boo your regards. The funny thing is that I hadn’t even had a drink yet when I took that photo. And when I did have a drink in Yellowstone, all it did was make me sleepy!

Leave a Reply

