Skip to content

Booky Tag

Wednesday, June 4, 2008

I was book-tagged by mitrideas.  Naughty mitrideas!  🙂 – giving me work to do and all.  This is my take on tags – I like them because it’s an organised way of letting blog readers get to know you BUT (confession time), sometimes, I am just too lazy.  So what do I do?  I enjoy reading other blogs’ tags and then I just pretend I didn’t get tagged hehe.  But this time, I found this to be not only an easy tag but also an interesting one because it’s a good way for me to know what other people out there are reading – this helps me to add to the list of books I must read, even if not now, then one day 🙂

So here are the rules.

1. Pick up the nearest book
2. Open to page 123
3. Find the fifth sentence
4. Post the next 3 sentences
5. Tag five people, and acknowledge the person who tagged you

So, right now, I’m reading this book called Tuesdays with Morrie by Mitch Albom.  So many people recommended it to me that I decided to buy it, a long time ago. But I just started reading it a couple of days ago.  It’s a very short book – only 192 short pages (there’s not much on each page).  It’s very easy to read it and so far, I’m only up to pg 114 but I’m LOVING it.  I really enjoy reading books on how one should live his/her life – but first of all, the book must be easy to read and secondly, the theories and actions should be practical and logical.  So here goes, Pg 123, the next 3 sentences after the 5th one……

….was coming through the window behind him, falling on the pink flowers of the hibiscus plant that sat on the sill.  The quote was from Ted Turner, the billionaire media………

And a little about the book.  It’s about a man (Mitch Albom) who starts re-visiting his old Professor Morrie when he finds out that his Professor is dying.  This professor, such a great man, wants to experience every moment of the “dying” process before his days are out.  So they meet every Tuesday and discuss topics ranging from death to family to aging to money to love and many more.  I love the simple sayings/quotations either by Morrie or by others.  Here are some:

“Once you learn how to die, you learn how to live”

“A teacher affects eternity; he can never tell where his influence stops.” [This is very close to home for me since I used to be a teacher before the little munchkin came along].

Click on the link below to look at all the topics in its contents page.

http://www.amazon.com/Tuesdays-Morrie-Young-Greatest-Lesson/dp/0385484518

I enjoyed this tag so much that I think I shall end off with 10 titles of books, in no specific order, that I hope to read in the future (some I already have bought but haven’t had the time to read):

The Five People You Meet in Heaven [Mitch Albom]

For One More Day [Mitch Albom]

Three Cups of Tea [Greg Moretenson and David Oliver Relin]

The Kite Runner [Khaled Hosseini]

A Thousand Splendid Suns [Khaled Hosseini]

Eat, Pray, Love [Elizabeth Gilbert] – I already started reading it but didn’t enjoy it a great deal, but I must finish it, I hate not finishing a book….

Autobiography of a Yogi [Paramahansa Yogananda]

Living with the Himalayan Masters [Swami Rama, I think] – this book together with Autobiography of a Yogi were 2 books that my father always wanted me to read when he was alive, but I just didn’t have the patience then.  But I now I want to.  So I plan on taking my father’s original copies when I go back to Singapore for a holiday to read them along with the 100s of books my father bought from places you would never imagine.  He used to make trips to India and go to lanes you wouldn’t even imagined existed to dusty old bookshops with the most amazing books just to buy a book he was after.  But this is a whole different post.

The Audacity of Hope [Barack Obama]

Dreams from My Father [Barack Obama] 

Breaking the rules of the tag to encourage more reading or re-reading, here are my 6 not 5 victims 🙂

Blackcadillac

Deianira

Joy

Laksh

MultipleBlessings

RaggedyAnne

And I’m not as nice as my tagger hehe – so LOTS OF PRESSURE is being put on you to do this tag 🙂

Hey, it’s easy, it could even have been a book you’ve read awhile ago!  And don’t be embarrassed what book you’re reading or when the last was that you actually read a book.  It doesn’t have to be any great philosophical book – all of us need our “knight in shining armour” stories once in awhile too 🙂

And now, I’m off to meet a lady who has come to Boise from India with her husband.  Trust me to turn a whole tag into a full post!  This is the fastest I’ve ever responded to a tag….

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Wednesday, June 4, 2008 8:21 pm

    Do you realise I don’t read books? The only things I read are newspapers, errr let me rephrase that … I ‘read’ the pictures in the newspapers.

  2. Wednesday, June 4, 2008 11:00 pm

    Living with the Himalayan masters sounds very interesting – given that I am reading “Autobiography of a yogi” now, I think it is only logical to read that next. Thanks for introducing this book to me. I am glad to say that I have read 5 books in that list and reading the 6th one 🙂

  3. Thursday, June 5, 2008 8:34 am

    Bavani- Thanks for doing this. I’ve heard about this book too, but haven’t read it, will add it to my next library pick up list. Also, it was nice of you to share 10 other possible reads. See- the booky tag helped!

  4. Thursday, June 5, 2008 8:41 am

    The closest book to me is Alicia’s Dick and Jane book… Does that count? *lol*

  5. boiseangel permalink*
    Thursday, June 5, 2008 8:46 am

    @blackcadillac : hehe, that’s the point, to ENCOURAGE you to read. How about you read some designing books 🙂 – and stop “reading” the pictures.

    @A-kay : No problem. I’m sure there’s a reason my father wanted me to read both those books so I definitely will one day and wish to share them with everyone.

    @Mitr : I enjoyed it. For once I can say, thanks for tagging me :). I just got carried away with the tag.

    @Julie : Ofcourse it counts, as long as you have read it 🙂 – a book is a book….

Leave a Reply

