Skip to content

One of “those” days…

Friday, June 6, 2008

It’s been one of those days – neither here nor there.  Tired from nothing.  A whole lot of staring into space.  Divya and I went to buy some things from the shop and the parking lot was FULL – ok, almost full.  The nearest place to park was just not near enough.  And then I saw it – a perfect spot, so perfect that I would just have to take a few baby steps to reach the shop.  BUT THEN, this was the sign I saw….

Oh why?  Shoo!  …… Shoo!  Shoo!  I tried to “shoo” away my conscience.  Damn you, conscience!  But, then, I remembered what it was like to be pregnant.  And WHAT IF and that was a very big WHAT IF a lady who was really pregnant needed that spot.  I’ll never forget those few days before I gave birth when people thought I was carrying twins – it was months since I’d seen my feet by just looking down, I’d be sweating buckets, I’d be so tired that I would just want to rest ALL THE TIME…..Why couldn’t it just have been this?

  [Reserved for Expectant Mothers and for Customers with small children]

OR THIS?

 

OR EVEN THIS?

Yes!  I may even have been able to pass off for this – with my permanent pregnancy state, thanks to my oh-so-sexy belly hehe.  After all, this last sign could be referring to a woman with a very big belly – nobody said anything about being pregnant!  But then, those legs aren’t exactly mine either.  Anyway, none of the above happened.  I simply parked FAR AWAY and lugged Divya all the way to the shop. 

Divya was just being Divya the whole day – active, happy, complaining, funny – all at the same time.  So after our shopping we headed home.  It was time for her nap – but before that it was diaper-changing time.  Divya is one of those squirmy babies you read about – she has always been squirmy when we change her diapers.  I’m almost fully competent at the process – using just my two hands to hold her, clean her, chuck the dirty diaper, put on the new diaper – all within a matter of few minutes.  When Elan is home, ofcourse we are the tag team – with one of us cleaning and one of us holding her down.  These days, to make things harder, Divya insists on balancing on her elbows to check out what’s going on down there when I’m cleaning her – sometimes, she even scrunches up her nose, not being able to take the smell.  Today, I was on my own since Elan was at work.  I was just about to lose my patience – making her lie down flat for the umpteenth time when something possessed me.  Well, Darth Vader did – and I have no idea why, but in his voice, I said “Resistance is futile”.  And suddenly, the little munchkin burst out laughing.  I have no idea what tickled her – maybe it was the voice.  She definitely had no idea what it meant.  And I couldn’t help myself, I just started laughing too.  And soon we were laughing at nothing.  It was just one of “those” days….. 🙂 

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Saturday, June 7, 2008 8:22 pm

    *lol* I think I would have laughed too. Too cute!

    I can’t remember which pregnancy it was (not Jared, because Babies R Us was built after he was born), but I remember being SO EXCITED to be able to park in the expectant Mommy parking spots. *lol*

  2. raggedyanne permalink
    Sunday, June 8, 2008 9:49 pm

    oh dear, i’ve been in and out of the funk these couple of weeks too! feeling so bleearrrgh lah these days

  3. Monday, June 9, 2008 9:08 am

    Bavani-

    interesting to note that such a parking spot exists..I’ve never come across that here in Bay Area, maybe, its just me being ignorant.

  4. boiseangel permalink*
    Monday, June 9, 2008 3:25 pm

    @Julie : Yes, we never had the signs in Singapore so Elan would drop me if he had to park far away.

    @raggedyanne : I know that feeling haha

    @Mitr : I had never come across that too until recently. I guess they wouldn’t have the signs everywhere just in the places where mummies-to-be are most likely to go.

  5. Wednesday, June 11, 2008 11:39 am

    I think this is a double edged sword. I had my boys so long ago, 31 and 28 years ago. I never had an ultra sound, they only did that if something was wrong. We also didn’t talk about all the “awful” things that went on during pregnancy. Which may be a good thing. I hear so many bad things about being pregnant and I often wonder if it’s because we “know” to much. I was just pregnant twice, it wasn’t such a big deal and I feel if I’d known some of the things I hear now, I might had “developed” some of this stuff if only in my mind. Does that make sense to anyone? I’m such a follower so if someone said “this will happen,” to me, it might have if I was to expect it. If I think back even further, my grandmother was out milking cows and doing farm chores a week after giving birth. I’m just not sure which way was the better way.

    I know there are times now if my back is out or if you have a bad headache or any number of things, a special parking spot would come in handy but I’m just not sure it’s a good thing. I think it opens the door to a of other health issues and some of us my be walking blocks so all the “special” people have a spot of their own. I’m also a firm believer if you have to walk anyway, what’s 20 more steps? Your already out and already walking. For me, I look at it like exercising when maybe I wouldn’t get it in any other way.

    Your little girls sounds simply adorable.

    Bavani, I didn’t mean to shrug you off with the tag thing. It’s just that I don’t enjoy doing things like that +but I really appreciate being thought of to you like that. Thank you.

  6. boiseangel permalink*
    Wednesday, June 11, 2008 12:45 pm

    Thanks for that comment 🙂 – that was actually to be in another post coming up – whether we really do need these “privileges” and where we would draw the line. I was just being comical in my post 🙂

  7. Wednesday, June 11, 2008 12:59 pm

    Oh, that’s funny. I had no idea but my husband and I were talking one day about this because he was complaining about having to park further away because of one of these signs! Like the extra walk would hurt him!! LOL!!!

  8. Monday, June 23, 2008 12:00 pm

    Bavani,

    I tagged you…visit my blog for details, don’t feel pressured to do the tag, if you don’t feel upto it.

  9. boiseangel permalink*
    Tuesday, June 24, 2008 12:48 pm

    @Mitr : Yup, I saw your tag – and I want to do it. It may just take me awhile 🙂

Leave a Reply

