Skip to content

Home is where the heart is…..

Tuesday, June 24, 2008

Yes, I’ve been Missing In Action.  I just realised it’s been about 2 weeks since my last post.  But you know what is most special about having been away from blogging – realising that I have actually made friends through blogging.  It’s amazing how I’ve had friends for years who have neither even bothered to drop me a line to see how things have been with me nor replied to my emails enquiring about their wellness – and yet, I have people whom I have never met in my life asking me if things are ok – that they’re just wondering since I haven’t blogged for awhile.  And I thank you from the bottom of my heart 🙂  

I guess I just haven’t been in the mood to write.  We are house-hunting at the moment and it’s been extremely stressful!  I won’t go into the details and bore you, but I’m sure you know. 

How does one choose a home?  They say (you know, the mysterious “they”) “home is where the heart is” – which I take to mean, the people (family and friends) you share your home with and the memories you create in it.  But the truth is, most of us have not gotten past our materialistic needswants.  We seek to find a house that suits our needs and wants.  But where do we draw the line?  I’ve noticed that the more homes I look at, the more desires it increases in me – things that I would have considered luxury or even unnecessary in the past suddenly look very desirable to me.  So then, I try to sit down and re-evaluate what we truly need – what would truly make us happy.  For me (superficially), I dream of a nice, and hopefully, spacious kitchen (as I love cooking) – the family/TV area has to be cozy as that’s where we spend most of our time – but mostly, when I close my eyes and look into my future, I see myself sitting on a bar stool near my kitchen watching Elan chase Divya around while she shrieks with laughter.

What kind of a home would you look for?  Maybe from your answers, it will help me with my search 🙂

Please bear with me if you don’t hear from me for awhile or get comments on your blogs.  I’ll be back recharged – Bavani doesn’t stay down for long 🙂

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Tuesday, June 24, 2008 5:58 pm

    I’m sure glad that everything is OK with you!

    When we were house hunting (the first time), we couldn’t afford much… So we couldn’t dream as big as we would have liked… So we settled for the least “worn out” house in a decent location. *lol* It was small. Only 880 square feet. We lived there for 10 1/2 years, and brought all the kids home from the hospital to that little house.

    As you can guess, we had OUT GROWN IT! *rofl*

    Before we got this house we’re in now, we were out looking for ones in the price range that we could afford (we had already been pre-approved for a loan, so we knew what we could afford)… But there was NOTHING out there that was big enough, and not falling apart. *sigh* … So we ended up buying a lot in a small town around an hour away (because everything in Portland cost twice as much), and bought a manufactured home… We now have a nice house, that is BIG ENOUGH for us! *lol* (And I got the jets in my tub like I had been dreaming about for years. 😀 )

  2. Wednesday, June 25, 2008 9:40 am

    I would look for spaciousness and a room for everyone. I feel everyone should have their own space. I really hate my house. It’s just to small with only a small kitchen and huge living room. The hubby and I just trip over one another. The kitchen is dark and gloomy. Our living room is very big but it’s really the only room we have for the TV and computer and all the other “stuff” we have. So, there is no privacy. I’m hoping to add on a sunroom before winter hits us.

    Good luck, I’ve missed you.

  3. Thursday, June 26, 2008 9:51 am

    Just remember that you have a professional kitchen designer at your disposal. Send the kitchen plan over and I’ll design one for you that would rival that of Martha Stewart’s. Hehehe …

    I can just imagine it … a Sub-Zero refrigerator … a Wolf gas range … an a moose head above the entrance to the kitchen.

    Beautiful!

  4. Thursday, June 26, 2008 11:15 am

    Thanks for coming by today and leaving the well wishes for our sweet baby! Take care – Kellan

  5. Thursday, June 26, 2008 5:02 pm

    Here are my 2 cents

    1. Plenty of sunlight
    2. Easy access from garage to kitchen. You will be lugging groceries and you-name-it from the car to the kitchen
    3. Recessed lighting/wired for lighting throughout the home
    4. Bedroom tucked away nicely in a corner away from TV/living room noise
    5. Spacious pantry/ kitchen cabinetry
    6. Opt for wood floors on one level if you can. It adds a rich feel to the house

    I better shoot you an email instead 🙂 Reading about your home hunt brought back memories of my own. I want to share this with you. http://www.lakshmusings.com/musings/2006/04/21/like-it-was-meant-to-be/

  6. boiseangel permalink*
    Thursday, June 26, 2008 8:43 pm

    @Julie : It’s good to hear that you’re finally in a comfortable home – and I’d love to have those jets too!

    @Joy : Good luck with the sunroom – it is an awesome room to have – I can imagine lounging in it and reading IF i have one too.

    @blackcadillac : Firstly, I DON’T LIKE Martha so I don’t want to rival her and secondly, NO moose head for me, thank you. But I may just take you up on that designing 🙂

    @Laksh : I read your previous post – I wish that we too could fall in love with a home like that – wish us luck :). We too love the hardwood floors especially if it is on the ground level.

    And to all, thanks for the tips – I can combine them and pick out the ones that are important to me too 🙂

  7. Friday, June 27, 2008 10:50 am

    Bavani-

    my suggestion would be to have a nice, spacious kitchen with lots of storage space, ventilation etc. Overall, the house should have enough sunshine coming through all and be something that you like at first glance. We bought our first home last year and as soon as we walked through it, I was sure this was it.

    Welcome back..

  8. boiseangel permalink*
    Friday, June 27, 2008 3:16 pm

    @Mitr : That’s what I hope to – that as soon as we see it, we’ll KNOW it 🙂 – the spacious kitchen just sounds so inviting to me – my DREAM – and I’m a major storage person – I’m so disorganised, that’s why I need more storage space to help me. I’ll keep that in mind 🙂

Leave a Reply

