Skip to content

Munchkin Updates

Thursday, June 26, 2008

The munchkin is turning 22 months in about 3 weeks’ time – this is how she looks today

So what have we been up to besides the house-hunting.  Summer has officially started now so I’ve been taking Divya to the park regularly.  She just LOVES the playground.  I can’t drive past a playground without her screaming her lungs out if I just keep going.  Yes!  We anticipate that she going to be one of those children you see practically being dragged out of the playground hehehe.  But then, it’s good, clean fun so I think it’s good for kids to expand their energy at a playground. 

Divya pretending to look scared on the duck

Divya showing her true colours – with that naughty expression

Divya at the Saturday Farmer’s market with her special balloon hat

I also signed her up in a Summer Camp – well, the term Camp is used very loosely considering it runs for 8 weeks and is only 1 hour per week.  Basically, a bunch of kids meet a park – there is a lady running the session.  They start off by doing some throwing of paint around artwork.  Then they sit in a circle, sing songs, do actions, play some games – I must say, it’s been really hard for Divya – she’s such an active child that all she wants to do is run around in the park.  I can’t say I blame her – she isn’t even 2 yet. 

I also bought a bunch of movie tickets – this also runs for 8 weeks during Summer – kiddy movies are screened every Tuesday and Thursday – so you can choose either day.  The movie is meant for parents to bring their kids – so noise in the theatre can be expected.  But surprisingly, it has been really silent – most of the kids are older than Divya – so she has been the only regular noise-maker.  She just can’t contain her excitement – so she laughs at everything!   She laughs when it’s funny, she laughs when she’s scared, she laughs when she’s bored – you get the picture!  I try to continuously pop cheerios into her mouth – but she manages to get in that laugh during those split-seconds when my hand returns to the container for the cheerios.  Thankfully, it’s dark – so I always hope that noone knows EXACTLY where the sound is coming from.  And just before the movie ends, you’ll see this person with her kid hurriedly exiting the theatre before the lights come on heheh – that’s us!  The last time we went, Divya did a poop just before the movie ended – so I was sure someone was going to follow the trail of the smell sound to us hehe

Divya trying to settle in on her booster seat at the movies

And then when we get bored, I put on a cute outfit for her and take her grocery shopping – HOW FUN!!! haha – hope you get that that is a joke.  Actually, I do love grocery shopping – I just don’t like doing it with Divya coz it’s SO difficult.  There was a time when I put her in the main section of the cart and by the end of one aisle, I found a whole lot of things that were not on my list including a bottle of olives – that was freaky, coz I have no idea how she grabbed that huge bottle off the shelf without dropping it!

Divya posing before going to the supermarket today – doesn’t she look like she’s ready for kindergarten? 😉

Sometimes, we meet Elan after work at Starbucks for a drink or at Fred Meyer which has a secluded part for having a drink – it’s usually empty so she can make as much noise as she wants.

Divya in a cool Starbucks highchair – the chair was made to match their decor

We’ve also been furniture browsing and testing.  Divya is ofcourse very serious about her assigned task of testing the comfort of the seats – but Elan is the one I’m not so sure about.  Half the time, it looks like he’s just getting himself comfy for a short nap while I walk around the shop.

Divya and her Appu

Divya testing the “rocking” factor in this rocking chair

Today, we went to look for an outfit for Divya for the 4th of July – I was hoping to find a dress but have not found anything suitable so far.  I did manage to finally find her a swimsuit that I like hehe – ofcourse she likes it too since there’s a picture of her Momo Elmo on it. 

And then there are times like today, just before Elan came home when I get into a mood of surprising Elan or hopefully at least putting a smile on his face.  So I set up the whole picture – first making the sign you see below on Divya, putting her in her swimsuit and getting her ready.

First she was thrilled to wear the sign.

Then she was not so impressed to wear the sign.

So this was the end product of the sign.

So I had to make a 2nd sign and hide it till Elan came home so he pretty much saw her as she looks in the first picture with the sign around her neck hehe – hope he gets the idea!

Tomorrow, hopefully, we’ll attempt to take her to a movie that is being screened in a park – and you readers, please don’t demoralise me by telling me that it’s going to be a hopeless situation going with a toddler hehe – I’m always hopeful 🙂

And I just can’t wait for the 4th of July celebrations with fireworks next week.  Last year was our first one in the U.S. but Divya was really sick so we stayed at home.  I just love the magic of seeing fireworks in the sky.  I feel like a child again 🙂

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Friday, June 27, 2008 4:21 am

    Nice update. Your daughter is a cutie pie!! Loved the sign idea. Hope Elan gets the hint 🙂

  2. Friday, June 27, 2008 10:52 am

    Bavani-

    your munchkin looks adorable and you can sure tell she is going to grow up to one active girl with her interest for playground activities.

    Yes, we are looking forward to the 4th of July celebrations too, love the fireworks display.

  3. Friday, June 27, 2008 11:39 am

    What an adorable little thing.

  4. Friday, June 27, 2008 12:58 pm

    Wonderful update!!! … You know how I keep little ones quiet in the theater? Popcorn. *lol* Amanda is quiet, as long as she’s got her popcorn… Though she can still exclaim pretty loudly if something in the movie startles her. 😀

  5. boiseangel permalink*
    Friday, June 27, 2008 3:15 pm

    @Laksh : I often have such crazy ideas like the sign – one would think that I haven’t outgrown my high school mentality – and that “one” may just be right!

    @Mitr : She definitely is – she’s not even 2 and she already is. So I plan on enrolling her in “active” activities – maybe gymnastics? She already attempts that Yoga pose bending over and balancing on her head hehe

    @Joy : Thanks 🙂

    @Julie : I haven’t started the popcorn with Divya yet – trying to keep her away from such food (the kind that I love) as long as I can – I figure that I have only about a year to go before I may have to give in! But it’ll be much easier then 🙂

  6. Friday, June 27, 2008 3:58 pm

    Love the photos!! Re playgrounds – better get used to it. I still have to let the boys play at the playground EVERYDAY after school!! They practicaly live on the monkey bars – bringing home new blisters everyday (I’m serious). Their hands are as rough as sand!!

    Having said that……. I love watching them play like this and given that they never had this privilege when I working,…. I think they deserve all the time in the playground that they can get 🙂

  7. Saturday, June 28, 2008 4:41 am

    how adorable is ur lil girl..u have captured quite a range of emotions thru all the pics 🙂

Leave a Reply

