Skip to content

If I were to describe myself….

Tuesday, July 22, 2008

I’m a 30-something year old home-maker – and, NO, I don’t make homes, but for lack of a better term…perhaps “Queen of MY Castle”?  An ex-teacher.  A daughter to an awesome mother – a daughter to a wonderful father who no longer is – a wife to my loving FH (Fit Half) who fills the missing pieces in the puzzle of my life – a mother to my active, soft-natured munchkin – a sister to my older brother who acts as if he were my younger one – a sister-in-law, niece, cousin and friend to many.  

Originally from Singapore, born and bred as horses would be, I moved with the munchkin and FH to the little city of Boise, Idaho – I was born in Singapore and spent most of my life there, apart from 5 of my teenage years that I spent in New Zealand with my family and the last couple of years here in Boise. 

Of Ceylonese origin (my grandparents were from Ceylon), I now conveniently fit into the “Others” category in all forms.  

If asked to be described as a person – you could say I’m one of “those” who has her head stuck in the clouds most of the time – always positively sure that that “pot of gold” is just around the corner – kind and patient – my family and good friends mean the world to me.  Mentally stuck at the age of 21, I feel like I belong in a different ERA (of reggae, peace and love), but at the same time enjoy loud, danceable music that the current teenager would.  I enjoy watching TV a little too much – mostly shows that do most of the thinking for me (including ones 30-something year olds should NO LONGER be enjoying). 

My belief?  Life was meant to be simple until some bored human being decided to spice it up a little – and it’s gotten way out of hand.  As I have always wondered how I should live my life – the idea came to me “What would I want my epitaph to read?” – and it has and will always be ……

“She lived her life for others, a life well lived….”

6 Comments leave one →
  1. raggedyanne permalink
    Wednesday, July 23, 2008 2:38 am

    i was really enjoying this description, until i reach the last part. oit! what’s all this talk about epitaph? so morbid!

  2. Wednesday, July 23, 2008 3:52 am

    You sound like a fun person! Knowing you through blogs, I can say you are someone I would have been friends with in real life 🙂

  3. Wednesday, July 23, 2008 6:26 am

    What would you want your epitath to read? … Kinda makes you think, huh?

  4. boiseangel permalink*
    Wednesday, July 23, 2008 8:34 am

    @raggedyanne : No lah – it wasn’t meant to be morbid. In fact, it sort of gives me a goal in life to work towards.

    @Laksh : Thanks Laksh 🙂 – I too think that we would “click” in real life!

    @Julie : It sure does Julie – I can’t remember how I started thinking about this – it may even have been an assignment in school, I just can’t remember.

  5. Wednesday, July 23, 2008 2:51 pm

    Excellent description of yourself…. Question for you: What song would describe you?

  6. boiseangel permalink*
    Wednesday, July 23, 2008 6:30 pm

    @spillay : Let me think about that!

Leave a Reply

