Skip to content

The Queen’s Return to Singapore – Part 1

Sunday, November 9, 2008

Yes, that’s where I’ve been for most of the past month – in Singapore.  Ok, let me start at the beginning.  I made a trip back to Singapore for almost 4 weeks in October.  It was the first one since I came here to live in the U.S.  So it’s been awhile since I’ve met my friends and family.  REWINDING THE STORY A LITTLE – this trip had been planned months ahead.  I booked and paid for the tickets in April this year.  But the reason why you may not have heard about it on this blog is because the main reason for going back was to surprise my mum for her birthday AND to surprise relatives.  Most of them, including my mum, knew I was coming back in October but had no idea that I would be back before her birthday.  I had to even help plan her surprise party (with my sister-in-law’s help) without her knowing about it or about my arrival. Hence, the hush-hush.

Anyway, forwarding the story this time.  I shall not reveal the number of candles on her cake this year (you know about old people and their superstitions hehehe – Amma ;)).  I arrived a few days before her birthday.  My initial plan was to just turn up at her doorstep, but after constant “persuasion” from Elan, I decided not to give her too much of a shock and give her a week’s notice (she needed the time to do a little spring cleaning hehe). 

Oh yeah, did I mention that Elan wasn’t able to take leave to join us, so it was just the munchkin and myself on that LONG LONG trip – aren’t I brave  The journey to Singapore is a vague memory now – thanks to my bad memory.  I do remember that the Boise-door to Singapore-door journey took 29 hours. 

The Northwest stewardesses on the LA-Tokyo part of the journey were HORRIBLE (most of them were Japanese, and no, I don’t have anything against Japanese).  They refused to help to warm up Divya’s milk – yes, “I know you don’t have a microwave oven”.  So here I was squashed with Divya in that small toilet running the bottle under the hot water from the tap for a long time which didn’t help much.  But much to my surprise and HAPPINESS, the stewardesses on the Tokyo-Singapore part of the journey were much nicer and made the effort to find a way to warm up the milk for her.  They were mostly Singaporean – and for those who know me, you’d know that I’m in no way Pro-Singaporean or anything like that.  I’m just stating an observation.  Anyway, many hours and few tantrums later, we reached Singapore – to be greeted by Divya’s Periappa and Tha-tha.  A few hugs and “Hi-s” were exchanged before we set off for my mum’s place which was where I was to stay for the next 3½ weeks.

And so began a trip of a lifetime – mother and daughter, 2 suitcases, 1 backpack, 1 camera bag, 1 pouch, 1 diaper bag, 1 blanket, 1 Mickey Mouse, a bucket-full of tantrums and a bunch of beautiful memories.

p1010345

p1010346

Yes, these are the 2 best pictures I have of Divya on the plane – when you travel that long with a toddler, taking good photos is just not a priority!  The first one is actually of Divya’s head – while she was sleeping.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. raggedyanne permalink
    Monday, November 10, 2008 1:50 am

    haha, we moms have a thing for blurry baby photos. they’re all fine with us! great to know you had a wonderful trip dear

  2. boiseangel permalink*
    Monday, November 10, 2008 10:02 am

    @raggedyanne : hehe – well, I guess we’d rather have the blurry ones than none at all right? The trip was good overall – ofcourse there were the usual ups and downs – but I will only remembe the ups 🙂

  3. Monday, November 10, 2008 12:03 pm

    I’m glad you were able to go see your Mom! I hope you had an awesome trip!

  4. Monday, November 10, 2008 3:13 pm

    Good to see you back in the blog world!!! You are very brave indeed – flying with a toddler and without another adult,.. and for 29 hours!!!! A medal is deserved 🙂

  5. boiseangel permalink*
    Monday, November 10, 2008 4:07 pm

    @Julie : Thanks Julie – I was so happy to see my Mum and yes, we did have a good trip.

    @spillay : I’m glad to be back too….Yes, indeed I am brave – and I have already awarded myself that medal hehe since I saw noone coming forward with it!

Leave a Reply

