Skip to content

Oh My Goch!

Wednesday, January 21, 2009

The 20th of January really should be the first day for resolutions in the New Year, don’t you think?  After all, it takes about 4 days after Christmas to get over the Christmas hype – which includes the shopping, which I’ve found out, is MUCH BETTER than the Black Friday sales.  So that takes us to the 29th of December – which is the time one needs to start planning for the New Year’s Eve Countdown.  New Year’s Eve is spent celebrating and bidding farewell (gleefully) to yet another year of unaccomplished resolutions.  In all good faith, one can just not be asked to start a resolution on the first day of the New Year – I know I wouldn’t want to put down my glass of Jim Beam when the clock strikes 12 if I were crazy enough to make a no-drinking-anymore resolution! 🙂

The next few weeks are then usually spent correcting yourself constantly when you write 2008 2009.  That brings us up to the inauguration of the first black President of the United States.  Now, if that isn’t a day to start your resolutions, then I don’t know when is.  Wasn’t it just amazing yesterday?  Watching Obama take the oath and then make his speech.  Personally, I was much more moved in November with his victory speech.  Nonetheless, I still felt those goosebumps on my skin and tears in my eyes.  To truly understand this feeling, one would have to be able to identify with the feeling with being a minority one’s whole life.  Well, race aside, it doesn’t hurt that this man has had the ability to inspire the old, the young, the black, the white, the green…. – but now, the time has come for him to show what he is truly made of.

And on a lighter note, besides the 2nd toe on my right foot that hasn’t seen a very good New Year so far, the New Year has gone by so far without much incident.  Why is it whenever you have an injured part on yourself, that SAME part keeps getting injured again?  Do you know what I mean?  An already injured toe usually gets knocked or stepped on again!

As for resolutions, I’m a chronic resolution maker.  It’s a sickness, I tell you!  Making those damn resolutions and actually believing you’re going to keep them.  This is probably the first year I’ve broken that tradition.  I’m going to just take each day as it comes.  Ofcourse it doesn’t hurt to set some short-term goals, but in general, it’s going to be just day by day.

And in the little munchkin’s favourite words OM MY GOCH (Oh My God), it’s 2009!  And I’m back!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Thursday, January 22, 2009 7:08 am

    Oh my Goch! you are back 🙂 Welcome back!!

    • boiseangel permalink*
      Thursday, January 22, 2009 10:50 am

      hahha – the little munchkin will now be your best friend since you are using her favourite phrase 🙂

  2. Thursday, January 22, 2009 7:48 am

    I never make resolutions anymore, because I have YET to keep a single one. *lol* … I do have some goals though… 😉

    • boiseangel permalink*
      Thursday, January 22, 2009 10:51 am

      “Goals” is the way to go! I know what you mean about the unkept resolutions 🙂

  3. Apar permalink
    Thursday, January 22, 2009 8:41 am

    Hey Welcome back!and welcome to the no resolutions taking resolution 😉

    • boiseangel permalink*
      Thursday, January 22, 2009 10:52 am

      Thank you 🙂
      Yes, it is a “welcomed” change not to make a resolution this year!

  4. deianira permalink
    Friday, January 23, 2009 3:53 am

    Finally, YOU’RE BACK!!! I just knew you’ll put up a post after the inauguration. keep the updates coming in yeah? (This should be ONE resolution you have to make!) 🙂
    OH MY GOCH, OH MANNN GODD… sigh. Why are our two Virgo-girls liking the same phrase?

    • boiseangel permalink*
      Monday, January 26, 2009 3:23 pm

      hehe – just had to after Obama was sworn in! These two Virgo-girls will make our hair turn gray soon!

  5. Friday, January 23, 2009 7:52 pm

    oh my goch, i’m so glad you’re back! haha, this is such a funny post as well. hope your toe gets better!

    • boiseangel permalink*
      Monday, January 26, 2009 3:22 pm

      The toe is better. Now it’s the back!

Leave a Reply

