Skip to content

An OX, a REINDEER and a couple of HORSES

Tuesday, January 27, 2009

It was another cold day today.  20ºF (-7ºC) at noon today!  There’s nothing like a warm meal on a cold winter’s day.  So it was the good old potato pirattal, spinach and sweet & sour tofu with rice today.

p1010701

 It was a busy weekend!  Kicking off the weekend was my baking fest – well, just me – getting ready for our Chinese New Year potluck dinner on Saturday night.  We were invited by our Singaporean Chinese friends to usher in the Year of the Ox.  So instead of cooking something I normally cook, I decided that I would try out some Singaporean dessert recipes – what better time would there be anyway!  So the 3 victims?

           Pandan Chiffon Cake                 Kueh Lapis (Layered Cake)

   p1010671      p1010680   

                                             Pandan Kaya Cake

   p1010676      p1010674

The verdict?  The chiffon cake turned out pretty well except for the slightly Halloween look.  It tasted good!  The layered cake tasted right but didn’t look right – I couldn’t quite get the layers going.  The Pandan Kaya cake – too rich!  So I still have a piece of the Kaya cake in my fridge while the rest was wiped out 😀

Enough said about the cakes.  We had a pretty nice time at the dinner.  It was really nice and comforting having some Singaporean food, and lah-ing away in some good, old Singlish (Singapore English).  The little munchkin ofcourse had a great time racing around the room we had our dinner in with the other kids.  Even the oldies had some fun taking turns at pool, foosball, table tennis and air hockey.                                           

   p1010682      p1010683

                                                                 The fathers having their fun 🙂

   p1010684      p1010685

                  Check out my Incredible Hulk cake in the top of the 2nd picture

   p10106841      p1010688        

   p1010689      p1010690     

                                                                        Everyone doing the “Low Hei”

 On Sunday, after having lunch with some friends, some of us decided to head off for some sledding with the kiddos.  There wasn’t as much snow on this hill as there was last year but we still had a lot of fun.  The kind reindeer daddies dragged the kids up the hill and zoomed down many times  – while the mummies came down the hill a couple of times with the kids too.

   p1010691      p1010693  

            The munchkin and her nemesis 🙂                                                      3 of us 🙂

Since we came back so late on Sunday, we couldn’t go for the walk I had promised Divya.  She’s been wanting to go and see the “horsies”.  So the “really smart” me decided to take her on Monday for a walk in the afternoon.  With the glorious blue skies and the sun shining, can you blame me?  It turns out – it was about 22ºF (for my Singaporean friends, that’s -6ºC, YES!  NEGATIVE!)  The walk started out wonderfully.  Although possibly a little cold, Divya still stopped to smell the roses beat the snow off the bushes and even pose for me.  Once we reached the horses’ enclosure, I really started to believe that it was our lucky day!  The kind horses actually made the effort to amble over to us – possibly hoping that we had brought them some snacks in this cold weather.  Divya definitely has an affinity for animals.   

    p1010694      p1010695

She whispered to this horse……(can you see her at the side?)

    p1010697

And this is what happened 🙂 [my own little horse whisperer].  I whispered to the same horse………        

   p1010696

and this is what happened…..     

   p1010698  

    p1010700

It’s a little over-exposed, but can you see that little figure standing by the fence?

The tips of our fingers were beginning to fall off, so as the responsible person in this relationship, I decided that we should start taking that walk back.  The journey was very slow, but we were getting there.  I was thinking to myself how lucky it was that I had decided to wear my warm cotton tights under my track pants, mentally congratulating the Fruit of the Loom team for coming up with such a perfect design and gently prodding Divya along and suddenly, plop!  I was on my knees and hands checking out the paved path!  Quickly trying to untangle the laces of one shoe that had gotten stuck on the other while glancing around for any witnesses, then tying the laces up again and putting my gloves back on, I was convinced that not a soul, except that squirrel on the grass, had seen what happened.  So, standing up proud and cool, and refusing to check the condition of my knees, I was about to continue the walk when Divya suddenly shouted out “Oh No!  Amma fall down!”  Yes!  Bad English and all.  And one thing that girl isn’t, is quiet.  She even needs to shout out her numbers when she counts from 1 to 10.  So just imagine her volume.  I think it was a delayed shock!  But then, she ran over, kissed my leg and said “All better!”  Now, how could your heart not melt?  I said to her “Thank you” and then we headed back home at a quick speed, with my hood now on (Hey!  I had to conceal my identity at all costs!)

A day later, with 2 scraped knees, a sore right knee and back, I’m doing ok.  It was still a wonderful walk – Divya was thrilled she could touch the horse’s nose.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Wednesday, January 28, 2009 12:35 am

    Wow! you have whipped up quite a meal. The desserts – ok am a sucker for cakes! 🙂
    Nice account of your walk. No, I did not read anything about your fall 😉
    Divya is very cute indeed.

  2. boiseangel permalink*
    Wednesday, January 28, 2009 10:59 am

    haha – I’m glad that you don’t know about my fall at all 😉

  3. Wednesday, January 28, 2009 12:15 pm

    Quite a spread and quite a walk 🙂 Belated New Year wishes!

    • boiseangel permalink*
      Wednesday, January 28, 2009 7:15 pm

      The spread was nice but it sure was QUITE a walk 🙂

  4. Wednesday, January 28, 2009 4:38 pm

    Hi Bavani. Looks like you have been busy in the kitchen! (I haven’t been in the mood since summer started! ha! Ha!). Must try out the kuih lapis (my kids just love peeling of the layers when they have this one…) Sorry to hear about your fall. Take it easy 🙂 ♥

    • boiseangel permalink*
      Wednesday, January 28, 2009 7:16 pm

      I love eating the kuih lapis too – I just have to learn how to get the layers done now! I’m trying to take it easy but 2009 seems to be, so far, a year of little knocks here and there, literally!

  5. Thursday, January 29, 2009 1:14 pm

    My kids would love to go see horses. 🙂 … What a pretty walk!

  6. Apar permalink
    Tuesday, February 3, 2009 9:43 am

    Hey! Have something on my space for you 🙂 Please do check it out 😀

  7. Friday, February 6, 2009 2:04 pm

    Bavani,

    back to blogging after a while and just catching up on your posts, what a delicious spread, looks mouth-watering.

    Nice pic of your daughter and the horse.

    @Mitr : Welcome back – yes, I’m trying too this year to get back to blogging! Thanks for the compliment on the photo – Divya is crazy about those particular 2 horses 🙂

Leave a Reply

